Sign In Join Now
User Accessibility
  • Increase Font

  • Invert Colours

Search for a Book Browse Books Menu
Brand New Audiobooks for Autumn!

Brand New Audiobooks for Autumn!

September 24, 2020 0 Comments

You know you can always rely on a great (audio)book to keep you company or help you escape from the world for a bit, and it’s probably fair to say that most of us have needed to do that a few times this year! We're so excited about the new books we’re adding over the next few weeks, whether you like epic journeys in faraway lands, gripping thrillers or perhaps something a bit silly, we’ll definitely have something perfect for you!

Here’s just a few of the highlights that will be hitting our catalogue very soon…

Dead to Her by Sarah Pinborough

Read by Saskia Maarleveld 

Published by Harper Collins

 

Audiobook cover of Dead to Her

The No.1 Sunday Times bestselling author of Behind Her Eyes brings us her next twisting, captivating novel that’ll hook you from the word go!

Marcie couldn’t believe her luck when she met Jason Maddox. Becoming his second wife propelled her into the elite world of high society. But underneath all the luxuries and polite smiles, she knows this isn’t a world she’s truly welcome in. She’s hanging onto her new life with her fingertips. 

Then Jason’s widowed boss brings back a new, young, beautiful, wife from his trip to London. No-one can take their eyes off her. Including Jason. Marcie refuses to be replaced so easily. People would kill for her life of luxury - what will Marcie do to keep it?

 

The Night Tiger

Written and read by Yangsze Choo

Published by Quercus

 

The Night Tiger audiobooks cover

 

In 1930s colonial Malaya two strangers paths will cross, brought together by one very small, very grim item – a severed human finger. It belongs to the former master of eleven year old houseboy Ren - his master’s dying wish was for his body to be reunited with its missing finger within forty-nine days of his death. If Ren doesn’t complete the mission, his master’s soul will roam the earth forever.

Ji Lin, an apprentice dressmaker, secretly moonlights as a dancehall girl to pay her mother's debts. One night, Ji Lin receives a gruesome gift from a dance partner which marks the beginning of a mysterious journey of dark secrets and unexplained deaths.

This beautifully written novel really wraps you up in its environment, the author expertly intertwines ancient Chinese folklore with issues of gender and class that we can still recognise today. It’s intriguing, magical and will stay with you for a very long time.

Ramble Book

Written and read by Adam Buxton

Published by Harper Collins

 

Audiobook cover for Ramble Book

Adam Buxton has long been a cult comedy favourite, from his anarchic Channel Four TV show with Joe Cornish, to his current popular podcast series and live shows.

In this book, the wonderfully rambling Adam gives us his thoughts about parenthood, boarding-school trauma, arguing with your partner, bad parties, confrontations on trains, friendship, wanting to fit in, growing up in the '80s, dead dads, teenage sexual anxiety, failed artistic endeavours, being a David Bowie fan and how everything you read, watch and listen to as a child forms a part of the adult you become. And it also includes a bonus podcast episode with Joe Cornish!

This will be perfect for those already fans of his podcast, or if you just fancy listening to the ramblings of a hairy, confused man called Adam.

The Poet X

Written and read by Elizabeth Acevedo

Published by Harper Collins

 

Audiobook Cover for The Poet X

This Young Adult novel has been the recipient of several awards including the 2018 National Book Award and the Carnegie Medal 2019.

Xiomara is someone who talks with her fists and leads with her fierceness, in her Harlem neighbourhood she finds it best to keep her words to herself.

But X has secrets…she has feelings for a boy in her class and a notebook full of poems that she keeps under her bed. And a slam poetry club that will pull those secrets into the spotlight. Because although she feels like she lives in a world that doesn’t want to hear her, Xiomara refuses to stay silent.

This is a powerful novel about finding your voice - no matter how hard it is to use it. It boldly explores issues of race, feminism and faith and is perfect for fans of Angie Thomas’ The Hate U Give and Sarah Crossan’s One.

Let it Snow by Sue Moorcroft

Read by Stephanie Racine

Published by Harper Collins

 

Let it Snow audiobook cover

December might feel like a long way away, but we think it’s never too early to get excited about your next Christmas book! Queen of Christmas Lit Sue Moorcroft brings us a very Swiss adventure that begins in the English village of Middledip. Lily and Zinnia Cortez and their two mums have always been very close. So it’s quite the shock when Lily finds out she wasn’t the result of an anonymous one-night stand and is in fact the daughter of a married man her mother had an affair with.

Confused, but determined to uncover the truth and find her mysterious unknown family, Lily sets out on an adventure that takes her from the frosted, thatched cottages of Middledip to the snow-capped mountains of Switzerland, via a Christmas market or two, of course! 

You can listen to our interview with Sue Moorcroft here - https://www.listening-books.org.uk/book/an-interview-with-sue-moorcroft/383

Camino Winds by John Grisham

Read by Michael Beck

Published by Hodder and Stoughton

Camino Winds Audiobook Cover

The new compelling book from the incomparable John Grisham. When Hurricane Leo threatens Florida's Camino Island, a small group of residents decide to ignore the evacuation rules and ride out the storm, including book shop proprietor Bruce Cable.

The hurricane is devastating and a dozen people are killed, including Nelson Kerr, a friend of Bruce's who wrote timely political thrillers. But Bruce believes Nelson’s injuries indicate his death wasn’t an accident.

The local police are too overwhelmed with the aftermath of the storm to handle the case. Bruce begins to look into it himself and discovers Nelson's new manuscript on his computer - could the key to the case be right there, in black and white? Were some of his characters more fact that fiction?

The Flat Share by Beth O’Leary

Read by Carrie Hope Fletcher

Published by Quercus

 

Audiobook cover for The Flat Share

Everyone has been talking about Beth O’Leary’s debut novel. It’s been described as every synonym for ‘charming’ that you can think of, the ultimate ‘up-lift’ novel that’s as absorbing as Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine.

It follows Tiffy and Leon - their friends think they're crazy, but their unique situation is perfect for them. Leon occupies a one-bed flat while Tiffy's at work in the day, and she has the run of the place the rest of the time when he’s at work at night. But the weirdest thing is – they still haven’t met yet.

With obsessive ex-boyfriends, demanding clients at work and wrongly imprisoned brothers, they're about to discover that if you want the perfect home you need to throw the rulebook out the window. Listen to the audiobook and see what everyone’s been talking about!

Homegrown Hero and Ride or Die by Khurrum Rahman

Read by Waleed Akhtar

Published by Harper Collins

 

Audiobook cover for Homegrown HeroAudiobook cover for Ride or Die

 

Following Rahman’s first gripping, yet funny spy thriller East of Hounslow, we have not just the next one, but the next two books in the series about MI5’s most reluctant spy! In Homegrown Hero, Jay Qasim is back home in West London after preventing the worst terrorist attack in recent history. And all he wants is a quiet life. He’s got a job in a call centre, has blocked MI5’s number and has put his brief career as an undercover jihadist behind him. But the game is far from over. And Jay’s about to learn that - no matter how hard he tries - it’s going to be tricky to keep his head down now there’s a price on it.

In Ride or Die, Jay is trying to lay low (again) after nearly being killed, for the second time. But then he gets word that notorious terrorist and his father, The Teacher, is still alive. And finally bringing him down means Jay breaking his vow never to work with MI5 again and turning to the person who has sold him down the river before. When everyone has their own agenda, who can you really trust?

All the above titles, plus many many more, will be available to borrow online from our website within the next few weeks. 

Leave a Reply
Instagram Post

It's the spookiest time of year, and if you like to skele-brate Hallowe'en with a scary audiobook, then check out the list of terrifying tales you can borrow from our library! Link in our bio!⁠
.⁠
.⁠
.⁠
#audiobook #audiobooks #audiobookstagram #halloween #halloweenreads #halloweenbooks #spookylistens #uklibrary #librariesofinstagram

Follow on Instagram