Sign In Join Now
User Accessibility
  • Increase Font

  • Invert Colours

Search for a Book Browse Books Menu
Day of the Caesars Cover Play Sample

Sample may contain unsuitable content.

Stream / Download

Audiobook streaming provided by:

OverDrive Logo

Share this book:

Day of the Caesars

AuthorSimon Scarrow

NarratorJonathan Keeble

SeriesEagles of the Empire, Book 16

Duration12h 4m

CategoriesAdult Fiction, Historical Novels

PublisherHodder Headline

VersionUnabridged

  Save to Wish List
  Add to Favourites List

AD 55. The Emperor Claudius is dead. Nero rules. His half-brother Britannicus has also laid claim to the throne. A bloody power struggle is underway. All Prefect Cato and Centurion Macro want is a simple army life, fighting with their brave and loyal men. But Cato has caught the eye of rival factions determined to get him on their side. To survive, Cato must play a cunning game and enlist the help of the one man in the empire he can trust: Macro. As the rebel force grows, legionaries and Praetorian Guards are moved like chess pieces by powerful and shadowy figures. A political game has created the ultimate military challenge. Can civil war be averted? The future of the empire is in Cato's hands...

0 (0 Reviews)
0
0
0
0
0

Related Titles

The Eagle's Conquest Cover

The Eagle's Conquest

Author: Simon Scarrow

The Eagle's Conquest

Author Simon Scarrow

Narrator David Thorpe

SeriesEagles of the Empire, Book 2

Duration 13h 37m

The Eagle's Conquest is the thrilling second novel in Simon Scarrow's best-selling Eagles of the Empire series. Essential reading for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Conn Iggulden. Britannia, AD 43. Bleak, rainy and full of vicious savages, Britannia is a land that Cato, solider of the Second Legion, wishes Rome didn't want to conquer. And as right-ha...

View Book
The Blood of Rome Cover

The Blood of Rome

Author: Simon Scarrow

The Blood of Rome

Author Simon Scarrow

Narrator Jonathan Keeble

SeriesEagles of the Empire, Book 17

Duration 13h 23m

The gripping new Cato and Macro adventure in Simon Scarrow's best-selling Eagles of the Empire series, not to be missed by fans of Conn Iggulden and Bernard Cornwell. It is AD 55. As trouble brews on the eastern fringes of the Roman Empire, Tribune Cato and Centurion Macro must prepare for war.... The wily Parthian Empire has invaded Armenia, a fro...

View Book
The Eagle and the Wolves Cover

The Eagle and the Wolves

Author: Simon Scarrow

The Eagle and the Wolves

Author Simon Scarrow

Narrator Jonathan Keeble

SeriesEagles of the Empire, Book 4

Duration 12h 48m

The Eagle and the Wolves is the gripping fourth novel in Simon Scarrow's best-selling Eagles of the Empire series. Perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Conn Iggulden. Britannia, AD 44. Occupation is never easy. The enemy is butchering their supply convoys, their garrison town is starving and the truce with the locals is uneasy at best. Young Ca...

View Book
Brothers in Blood Cover

Brothers in Blood

Author: Simon Scarrow

Brothers in Blood

Author Simon Scarrow

Narrator Jonathan Keeble

SeriesEagles of the Empire, Book 13

Duration 13h 55m

If you don't know Simon Scarrow, you don't know Rome! Brothers in Blood is the enthralling thirteenth novel in Simon Scarrow's best-selling Eagles of the Empire series. Perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell. The Roman Empire's conquest of Britannia is under threat from within. A messenger on the streets of Rome has been intercepted and tortured, rev...

View Book
The Eagle in the Sand Cover

The Eagle in the Sand

Author: Simon Scarrow

The Eagle in the Sand

Author Simon Scarrow

Narrator Russell Boulter

SeriesEagles of the Empire, Book 7

Duration 11h 33m

The Eagle in the Sand is the action-packed seventh novel in Simon Scarrow's best-selling Eagles of the Empire series. Essential reading for fans of Bernard Cornwell. Judaea in AD 46. Roman centurions Cato and Macro have been posted to Judaea for a 'hearts and minds' operation. The Empire needs to win over the locals after some of their religious fi...

View Book
The Gladiator Cover

The Gladiator

Author: Simon Scarrow

The Gladiator

Author Simon Scarrow

Narrator Jonathan Keeble

SeriesEagles of the Empire, Book 9

Duration 13h 32m

The Gladiator is the compelling ninth novel in Simon Scarrow's best-selling Eagles of the Empire series. A must read for fans of Bernard Cornwell. While centurions Macro and Cato are returning to Rome from a harrowing campaign against the Parthians, their transport ship is almost capsized by a tidal wave. They barely make it to the port of Matala i...

View Book
Praetorian Cover

Praetorian

Author: Simon Scarrow

Praetorian

Author Simon Scarrow

Narrator Gareth Armstrong

SeriesEagles of the Empire, Book 11

Duration 12h 26m

Praetorian is the gripping eleventh novel in Simon Scarrow's best-selling Eagles of the Empire series. Essential reading for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Conn Iggulden. AD 51. Legionaries Cato and Macro have forged a bond that has survived war, rebellion and torture. Yet nothing has prepared them for a daunting mission on the deadliest battlefield...

View Book
The Eagle's Prey Cover

The Eagle's Prey

Author: Simon Scarrow

The Eagle's Prey

Author Simon Scarrow

Narrator Jonathan Keeble

SeriesEagles of the Empire, Book 5

Duration 12h 48m

It is late summer AD 44, and the battle-weary Roman legions are in their second year of campaigning against the British tribes. The troops' commander, General Plautius, is under pressure from the emperor to crush the natives once and for all. Centurions Macro and Cato are with the crack Second Legion under the precarious leadership of Centurion Max...

View Book
Britannia Cover

Britannia

Author: Simon Scarrow

Britannia

Author Simon Scarrow

Narrator Jonathan Keeble

SeriesEagles of the Empire, Book 14

Duration 12h 11m

Roman Britain, AD 52. The western tribes, inspired by the Druids' hatred of the Romans, prepare to make a stand. But can they match the discipline and courage of the legionaries? Wounded during a skirmish, Centurion Macro remains behind in charge of the fort as Centurion Cato leads an invasion deep into the hills. Cato's mission: to cement Rome's t...

View Book
Centurion Cover

Centurion

Author: Simon Scarrow

Centurion

Author Simon Scarrow

Narrator Russell Boulter

SeriesEagles of the Empire, Book 8

Duration 12h 28m

Centurion, a no. 1 best-seller, is the unputdownable eighth novel in Simon Scarrow's Eagle's of the Empire series. Perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Conn Iggulden. In the first century AD the Roman Empire faces a new threat from its long-standing enemy Parthia. Parthia is vying with Rome for control of Palmyra, an officially neutral kingdom....

View Book