Sign In Join Now
User Accessibility
  • Increase Font

  • Invert Colours

Search for a Book Browse Books Menu
The Blood of Rome Cover Play Sample

Sample may contain unsuitable content.

Stream / Download

Audiobook streaming provided by:

OverDrive Logo

Share this book:

The Blood of Rome

AuthorSimon Scarrow

NarratorJonathan Keeble

SeriesEagles of the Empire, Book 17

Duration13h 23m

CategoriesAdult Fiction, Historical Novels

PublisherHodder Headline

VersionUnabridged

  Save to Wish List
  Add to Favourites List

The gripping new Cato and Macro adventure in Simon Scarrow's best-selling Eagles of the Empire series, not to be missed by fans of Conn Iggulden and Bernard Cornwell. It is AD 55. As trouble brews on the eastern fringes of the Roman Empire, Tribune Cato and Centurion Macro must prepare for war.... The wily Parthian Empire has invaded Armenia, a frontier territory claimed by Rome, ousting King Rhadamistus. The king is ambitious and ruthless, but he is vital to Rome's strategic interests. General Corbulo must restore him to power while also readying the troops for war with the powerful Parthian Empire. Corbulo orders new arrivals Cato and Macro, and their elite cohort of Praetorian Guards, to carry out the task. Marching into unmapped and unfamiliar terrain to restore an unpopular king is a perilous mission. Allies cannot be trusted, and foes lurk on all sides. The bravery and skill of the Roman army will be tested to the limit...

0 (0 Reviews)
0
0
0
0
0

Related Titles

The Eagle in the Sand Cover

The Eagle in the Sand

Author: Simon Scarrow

The Eagle in the Sand

Author Simon Scarrow

Narrator Russell Boulter

SeriesEagles of the Empire, Book 7

Duration 11h 33m

The Eagle in the Sand is the action-packed seventh novel in Simon Scarrow's best-selling Eagles of the Empire series. Essential reading for fans of Bernard Cornwell. Judaea in AD 46. Roman centurions Cato and Macro have been posted to Judaea for a 'hearts and minds' operation. The Empire needs to win over the locals after some of their religious fi...

View Book
Day of the Caesars Cover

Day of the Caesars

Author: Simon Scarrow

Day of the Caesars

Author Simon Scarrow

Narrator Jonathan Keeble

SeriesEagles of the Empire, Book 16

Duration 12h 4m

AD 55. The Emperor Claudius is dead. Nero rules. His half-brother Britannicus has also laid claim to the throne. A bloody power struggle is underway. All Prefect Cato and Centurion Macro want is a simple army life, fighting with their brave and loyal men. But Cato has caught the eye of rival factions determined to get him on their side. To survive,...

View Book
The Eagle's Prophecy Cover

The Eagle's Prophecy

Author: Simon Scarrow

The Eagle's Prophecy

Author Simon Scarrow

Narrator Russell Boulter

SeriesEagles of the Empire, Book 6

Duration 13h 50m

The Eagle's Prophecy is the powerful sixth novel in Simon Scarrow's best-selling Eagles of the Empire series. Perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell. The Adriatic Sea, AD 45. Cato and Macro, centurions of the Roman army, are horrified to learn that they face possible execution after the death of their commanding officer. Fortunately, the Emperor's se...

View Book
The Eagle's Conquest Cover

The Eagle's Conquest

Author: Simon Scarrow

The Eagle's Conquest

Author Simon Scarrow

Narrator David Thorpe

SeriesEagles of the Empire, Book 2

Duration 13h 37m

The Eagle's Conquest is the thrilling second novel in Simon Scarrow's best-selling Eagles of the Empire series. Essential reading for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Conn Iggulden. Britannia, AD 43. Bleak, rainy and full of vicious savages, Britannia is a land that Cato, solider of the Second Legion, wishes Rome didn't want to conquer. And as right-ha...

View Book
Praetorian Cover

Praetorian

Author: Simon Scarrow

Praetorian

Author Simon Scarrow

Narrator Gareth Armstrong

SeriesEagles of the Empire, Book 11

Duration 12h 26m

Praetorian is the gripping eleventh novel in Simon Scarrow's best-selling Eagles of the Empire series. Essential reading for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Conn Iggulden. AD 51. Legionaries Cato and Macro have forged a bond that has survived war, rebellion and torture. Yet nothing has prepared them for a daunting mission on the deadliest battlefield...

View Book
Centurion Cover

Centurion

Author: Simon Scarrow

Centurion

Author Simon Scarrow

Narrator Russell Boulter

SeriesEagles of the Empire, Book 8

Duration 12h 28m

Centurion, a no. 1 best-seller, is the unputdownable eighth novel in Simon Scarrow's Eagle's of the Empire series. Perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Conn Iggulden. In the first century AD the Roman Empire faces a new threat from its long-standing enemy Parthia. Parthia is vying with Rome for control of Palmyra, an officially neutral kingdom....

View Book
Britannia Cover

Britannia

Author: Simon Scarrow

Britannia

Author Simon Scarrow

Narrator Jonathan Keeble

SeriesEagles of the Empire, Book 14

Duration 12h 11m

Roman Britain, AD 52. The western tribes, inspired by the Druids' hatred of the Romans, prepare to make a stand. But can they match the discipline and courage of the legionaries? Wounded during a skirmish, Centurion Macro remains behind in charge of the fort as Centurion Cato leads an invasion deep into the hills. Cato's mission: to cement Rome's t...

View Book
The Blood Crows Cover

The Blood Crows

Author: Simon Scarrow

The Blood Crows

Author Simon Scarrow

Narrator Jonathan Keeble

SeriesEagles of the Empire, Book 12

Duration 13h 55m

The Blood Crows is the enthralling twelfth novel in Simon Scarrow's best-selling Eagles of the Empire series. A must-read for fans of Bernard Cornwell. Britannia, AD 51. For nearly a decade, the Roman Empire has fought to assert its hold over Britannia. But relentless opposition from native tribes led by the fanatical King Caratacus threatens to de...

View Book
The Legion Cover

The Legion

Author: Simon Scarrow

The Legion

Author Simon Scarrow

Narrator Jonathan Keeble

SeriesEagles of the Empire, Book 10

Duration 13h 19m

The Legion is the action-packed tenth novel in Simon Scarrow's best-selling Eagles of the Empire series. Perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Conn Iggulden. Egypt, AD 49. Cato, one of the youngest Prefects of the Roman army, and Centurion Macro have a tough posting: to track down and destroy a gang of former gladiators who have turned to piracy...

View Book
Brothers in Blood Cover

Brothers in Blood

Author: Simon Scarrow

Brothers in Blood

Author Simon Scarrow

Narrator Jonathan Keeble

SeriesEagles of the Empire, Book 13

Duration 13h 55m

If you don't know Simon Scarrow, you don't know Rome! Brothers in Blood is the enthralling thirteenth novel in Simon Scarrow's best-selling Eagles of the Empire series. Perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell. The Roman Empire's conquest of Britannia is under threat from within. A messenger on the streets of Rome has been intercepted and tortured, rev...

View Book