Sign In Join Now
User Accessibility
  • Increase Font

  • Invert Colours

Search for a Book Browse Books Menu
Different Class Cover Play Sample

Sample may contain unsuitable content.

Stream / Download

Audiobook streaming provided by:

OverDrive Logo

Share this book:

Different Class

AuthorJoanne Harris

NarratorEwan Goddard, Steven Pacey

Duration14h 55m

CategoriesAdult Fiction, Crime, Thriller and Mysteries

PublisherTransworld

VersionUnabridged

  Save to Wish List
  Add to Favourites List

The gripping new psychological thriller from Joanne Harris, to follow her bestselling Gentlemen & Players and Blueeyedboy. Perfect for fans of Claire Mackintosh, BA Paris. Paula Hawkins and Tracy Chevalier.

After thirty years at St Oswald's Grammar in North Yorkshire, Latin master Roy Straitley has seen all kinds of boys come and go. Each class has its clowns, its rebels, its underdogs, its 'Brodie' boys who, whilst of course he doesn't have favourites, hold a special place in an old teacher's heart. But every so often there's a boy who doesn't fit the mould. A troublemaker. A boy with hidden shadows inside.

With insolvency and academic failure looming, a new broom has arrived at the venerable school, bringing Powerpoint, sharp suits and even sixth form girls to the dusty corridors. But while Straitley does his sardonic best to resist this march to the future, a shadow from his past is stirring. A boy who even twenty years on haunts his teacher's dreams. A boy capable of bad things.

'A masterpiece of misdirection' Val McDermid; 'Compellingly suspenseful...both a splendidly dark comedy and a disturbing thriller' Ramsey Campbell; 'Terrific twists pile up at a highly satisfying rate...you'll be hooked' James Walton, Reader's Digest

What the critics said about Joanne Harris' psychological thrillers:
'A terrific and absorbing suspense novel...twists and turns to keep you on your toes' - Peter Robinson; 'Gripping psychological thriller...one of our most accomplished novelists... pace, wit and acute observation...at the top of her form' - Daily Express; 'The plot is so cleverly constructed, the tension so unflagging, you'd think she'd been writing thrillers all her life' Daily Mail; '[A] clever story of obsession and revenge' - Sunday Telegraph

5 (1 Review)
0
0
0
0
1

Alison 14 Mar 2023

Brilliant

Narrator is really good. Great story. Worth listening to.

Related Titles

Peaches For Monsieur Le Cur Cover

Peaches For Monsieur Le Cur

Author: Joanne Harris

Peaches For Monsieur Le Cur

Author Joanne Harris

Narrator Rula Lenska

SeriesChocolat Trilogy, Book 3

Duration 11h 50m

When Vianne Rocher receives a letter from beyond the grave, she has no choice but to follow the wind that blows her back to Lansquenet, the village in south-west France where, eight years ago, she opened up a chocolate shop. But Vianne is completely unprepared for what she finds there. Women veiled in black, the scent of spices and peppermint tea,...

View Book
Sleep, Pale Sister Cover

Sleep, Pale Sister

Author: Joanne Harris

Sleep, Pale Sister

Author Joanne Harris

Narrator Steven Pacey

Duration 11h 55m

Henry Chester, a Victorian artist, is in search of the perfect model. In nine-year-old Effie he finds her. Ten years later, lovely, childlike and sedated, Effie seems the ideal wife. But something inside her is about to awaken.

View Book
A Cat, A Hat and A Piece of String Cover

A Cat, A Hat and A Piece of String

Author: Joanne Harris

A Cat, A Hat and A Piece of String

Author Joanne Harris

Narrator Thomas Judd

Duration 8h 1m

Stories are like Russian dolls; open them up, and in each one you'll find another story.' Conjured from a wickedly imaginative pen, here is a new collection of short stories that showcases Joanne Harris's exceptional storytelling art.Sensuous, wicked, mischievous, uproarious and wry, here are tales that combine the everyday with the unexpected;wil...

View Book
Five Quarters of the Orange Cover

Five Quarters of the Orange

Author: Joanne Harris

Five Quarters of the Orange

Author Joanne Harris

Narrator Zulema Dene

Duration 11h 50m

'Five Quarters of the Orange' revolves around a recipe book, continuing the theme of culinary intrigue begun in 'Chocolat' and 'Blackberry Wine'. Framboise returns to the village where she grew up during wartime and, with the help of the recipes scribbled in her mother's album, opens up a small restaurant. Whilst immersing herself once again in th...

View Book
Blueeyedboy Cover

Blueeyedboy

Author: Joanne Harris

Blueeyedboy

Author Joanne Harris

Narrator Dan Stevens

Duration 6h

"Once there was a widow with three sons, and their names were Black, Brown and Blue. Black was the eldest; moody and aggressive. Brown was the middle child; timid and dull. But Blue was his mother's favourite. And he was a murderer." Blueeyedboy is the brilliant new novel from Joanne Harris: a dark and intricately plotted tale of a poisonously dysf...

View Book
Chocolat Cover

Chocolat

Author: Joanne Harris

Chocolat

Author Joanne Harris

Narrator Joanne Harris

Duration 9h 53m

When an exotic stranger, Vianne Rocher, arrives in the French village of Lansquenet and opens a chocolate boutique directly opposite the church, Father Reynaud denounces her as a serious moral danger to his flock - especially as it is the beginning of Lent, the traditional season of self-denial. As passions flare and the conflict escalates, the who...

View Book
The Lollipop Shoes Cover

The Lollipop Shoes

Author: Joanne Harris

The Lollipop Shoes

Author Joanne Harris

Narrator Juliet Stevenson

Duration 15h 51m

'Who died?' I said, 'Or is it a secret?'. 'My mother, Vianne Rocher.' Seeking refuge and anonymity in the cobbled streets of Montmartre, Yanne and her daughters, Rosette and Annie, live peacefully, if not happily, above their little chocolate shop. Nothing unusual marks them out; no red sachets hang by the door. The wind has stopped - at least for...

View Book
The Lollipop Shoes Cover

The Lollipop Shoes

Author: Joanne Harris

The Lollipop Shoes

Author Joanne Harris

Narrator Juliet Stevenson

SeriesChocolat Trilogy, Book 2

Duration 15h 47m

Seeking refuge and anonymity in the cobbled streets of Montmartre, Yanne and her daughters, Rosette and Annie, live peacefully, if not happily, above their little chocolate shop.Nothing unusual marks them out; no red sachets hang by the door.The wind has stopped - at least for a while.Then into their lives blows Zozie de l'Alba, the lady with the l...

View Book
Gentlemen & Players Cover

Gentlemen & Players

Author: Joanne Harris

Gentlemen & Players

Author Joanne Harris

Narrator Steven Pacey

Duration 13h 42m

The place is St Oswald's, an old and long-established boys' grammar school in the north of England. A new year has just begun, and for the staff and boys of the school, a wind of unwelcome change is blowing. Suits, paperwork and Information Technology rule the world and Roy Straitley, Latin master, eccentric, and veteran of St Oswald's, is finally...

View Book
Jigs and Reels Cover

Jigs and Reels

Author: Joanne Harris

Jigs and Reels

Author Joanne Harris

Narrator Rula Lenska

Duration 7h 51m

Suburban witches, defiant old ladies, ageing monsters, suicidal Lottery winners, wolf men, dolphin women and middle-aged manufacturers of erotic leatherwear all feature in this collection of 22 short stories from the author of 'Chocolat'.

View Book