Sign In Join Now
User Accessibility
  • Increase Font

  • Invert Colours

Search for a Book Browse Books Menu
The Couple at No 9 Cover
Stream / Download

Audiobook streaming provided by:

OverDrive Logo

Share this book:

This book contains violent and/or sexual content.

The Couple at No 9

AuthorClaire Douglas

NarratorNathalie Buscombe, Kenton Thomas

Duration12h 43m

CategoriesAdult Fiction, Crime, Thriller and Mysteries

PublisherPenguin Books Ltd

VersionUnabridged

  Save to Wish List
  Add to Favourites List

Brought to you by Penguin.
THE NEW HEART-POUNDING NOVEL FROM SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLING AUTHOR, CLAIRE DOUGLAS
It was the house of their dreams. Until the bodies were found . . .

BODIES FOUND UNDER PATIO
When pregnant Saffron Cutler moves into 9 Skelton Place with boyfriend Tom and sets about renovations the last thing she expects is builders uncovering a body - two bodies, in fact.
POLICE INVESTIGATE
Forensics indicate the bodies have been buried at least thirty years. Nothing Saffy need worry herself over. Until the police launch a murder investigation and ask to speak to the cottage's former owner - her grandmother, Rose.
OWNER QUESTIONED
Rose is in a care home and Alzheimer's means her memory is increasingly confused. She can't help the police but it is clear she remembers something.
A KILLER AT LARGE?
As Rose's fragmented memories resurface, and the police dig ever deeper, Saffy fears she and the cottage are being watched.
What happened thirty years ago?
Why did no one miss the victims?
What part did her grandmother play?
And is Saffy now in danger?
Praise for Claire Douglas
'Few people do psychological thrillers as claustrophobic and as creepy as Claire Douglas'
Tim Weaver, bestselling author of No One Home
'Thrillingly tense and twisty' B. A. Paris, bestselling author of Behind Closed Doors

'Stunning . . . with a killer twist'
Closer

'Perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train'
Marie Claire
'Twisty, exciting yet so very real' Gillian McAllister, bestselling author of Anything You Do Say
© Claire Douglas 2021 (P) Penguin Audio 2021

5 (1 Review)
0
0
0
0
1

Claire 29 Aug 2022

Fantastic Twist

This is one of the most gripping crime novels I have heard in a while. There is such a plot twist that you would never see coming! Well worth a listen!

Related Titles

Patrik Hedstrom Book 10: The Girl In the Woods Cover

Patrik Hedstrom Book 10: The Girl In the Woods

Author: Camilla Lackberg

Patrik Hedstrom Book 10: The Girl In the Woods

Author Camilla Lackberg

Narrator Robin Bowerman

SeriesPatrik Hedstrom, Book 10

Duration 21h 41m

A missing child When a four-year-old girl disappears in the woods outside Fj„llbacka, people are horror-struck. Thirty years ago, a child went missing from the same spot, and was later discovered, murdered. A murder Back then, two teenage girls were found guilty of the killing. Could one of them be the culprit this time? Detective Patrik Heds...

View Book
The Promise Cover

The Promise

Author: Katerina Diamond

The Promise

Author Katerina Diamond

Narrator Stevie Lacey

Duration 10h 38m

When a young woman is found strangled in her own bedroom, DS Imogen Grey and DS Adrian Miles are plunged into an investigation to find a twisted serial killer who likes to date his victims before he kills them. Determined to stop the horrific deaths, Imogen is forced to act as bait - but will she get caught in her own trap? As the search for the ki...

View Book
Dr Alex Gregory Book 1: Imposter Cover

Dr Alex Gregory Book 1: Imposter

Author: Lj Ross

Dr Alex Gregory Book 1: Imposter

Author Lj Ross

Narrator Hugh Dancy

SeriesAlex Gregory, Book 1

Duration 7h 6m

From the International Number 1 Bestselling Author of the DCI Ryan Mysteries. Impostor is the first instalment in Ross' brand new Dr Alex Gregory series, narrated by actor Hugh Dancy. After an elite criminal profiling unit is shut down amid a storm of scandal and mismanagement, only one person emerges unscathed. Forensic psychiatrist Doctor Alexand...

View Book
Tony Hill and Carol Jordan Book 11: How the Dead Speak Cover

Tony Hill and Carol Jordan Book 11: How the Dead Speak

Author: Val Mcdermid

Tony Hill and Carol Jordan Book 11: How the Dead Speak

Author Val Mcdermid

Narrator Saul Reichlin

SeriesTony Hill and Carol Jordan, Book 11

Duration 12h 16m

After an explosive case that forced Tony Hill and Carol Jordan to reassess everything they thought they knew about right and wrong, both are dealing with the fallout in their own separate ways. While Tony must pay the price for his actions, Carol is conducting investigations into suspected miscarriages of justice. But when a shocking discovery is m...

View Book
Then She Vanishes Cover

Then She Vanishes

Author: Claire Douglas

Then She Vanishes

Author Claire Douglas

Narrator Various

Duration 11h 6m

That summer, the three girls had the world at their feet. Now, one is missing. On a summer's night in 1994, sixteen-year-old Flora Powell vanished from her sleepy seaside town. She left no trace - only heartache for her mother and her sister, Heather. And one is a murderer. Twenty-five years later, Heather walks into a stranger's house. There, the...

View Book
Do Not Disturb Cover

Do Not Disturb

Author: Claire Douglas

Do Not Disturb

Author Claire Douglas

Narrator Hannah Daniel

Duration 9h 19m

COULD YOUR DREAM HOME BE YOUR WORST NIGHTMARE? After what happened in London, Kirsty needs a fresh start with her family. And running a guesthouse in the Welsh mountains sounds idyllic. But then their first guest arrives. Selena is the last person Kirsty wants to see. It's seventeen years since she tore everything apart. Why has she chosen now to w...

View Book
Karen Pirie Book 5: Broken Ground Cover

Karen Pirie Book 5: Broken Ground

Author: Val Mcdermid

Karen Pirie Book 5: Broken Ground

Author Val Mcdermid

Narrator Cathleen Mccarron

SeriesKaren Pirie, Book 5

Duration 12h 57m

When a body is discovered in the remote depths of the Highlands, DCI Karen Pirie finds herself in the right place at the right time. Unearthed with someone's long-buried inheritance, the victim seems to belong to the distant past - until new evidence suggests otherwise, and Karen is called in to unravel a case where nothing is as it seems. It's not...

View Book
Tony Hill and Carol Jordan Book 9: Splinter the Silence Cover

Tony Hill and Carol Jordan Book 9: Splinter the Silence

Author: Val Mcdermid

Tony Hill and Carol Jordan Book 9: Splinter the Silence

Author Val Mcdermid

Narrator Saul Reichlin

SeriesTony Hill and Carol Jordan, Book 9

Duration 12h 47m

When psychological profiler Tony Hill comes across a series of suicides among women tormented by vicious online predators, he begins to wonder if there is more to these tragedies than meets the eye. Could it be murder? But what kind of serial killer wants his crimes to stay hidden? Tony and DCI Carol Jordan begin the hunt for the most dangerous and...

View Book
Dr Alex Gregory Book 2: Hysteria Cover

Dr Alex Gregory Book 2: Hysteria

Author: Lj Ross

Dr Alex Gregory Book 2: Hysteria

Author Lj Ross

Narrator Hugh Dancy

SeriesAlex Gregory, Book 2

Duration 6h 52m

From the International Number 1 Bestselling Author of the DCI Ryan Mysteries. Hysteria is the second instalment in Ross' brand new Dr Alex Gregory series, narrated by actor Hugh Dancy. Recently returned from his last case in Ireland, elite forensic psychologist and criminal profiler Dr Alexander Gregory receives a call from the French police that h...

View Book
Maggie Hope Series Book 7: The King's Justice Cover

Maggie Hope Series Book 7: The King's Justice

Author: Susan Elia MacNeal

Maggie Hope Series Book 7: The King's Justice

Author Susan Elia MacNeal

Narrator Susan Duerden

SeriesMaggie Hope, Book 9

Duration 10h 51m

Maggie Hope started out as Winston Churchill's secretary, but now she's a secret agent-and the only one who can figure out how the missing violin ties into a series of horrifying murders. London, December 1943. As the Russian army repels German forces from Stalingrad, Maggie Hope takes a much-needed break from spying to defuse bombs in London. But...

View Book