Sign In Join Now
User Accessibility
  • Increase Font

  • Invert Colours

Search for a Book Browse Books Menu
The Kingdoms Cover
Stream / Download

Audiobook streaming provided by:

OverDrive Logo

Share this book:

The Kingdoms

AuthorNatasha Pulley

NarratorTheo Solomon

Duration15h 1m

CategoriesAdult Fiction, Historical Novels, Family Sagas

PublisherBloomsbury

VersionUnabridged

  Save to Wish List
  Add to Favourites List

For fans of Matt Haig, Stuart Turton and Bridget Collins, a sweeping historical adventure from the Sunday Times bestselling author, that takes us from French-occupied London to a remote Scottish lighthouse and back through time itself. 'Original, joyous and horrifying, The Kingdoms is an awe-inspiring feat of imagination and passion which had me in tears by the end' - Catriona Ward Come home, if you remember. The postcard has been held at the sorting office for ninety-one years, waiting to be delivered to Joe Tournier. On the front is a lighthouse – Eilean Mor, in the Outer Hebrides. Joe has never left England, never even left London. He is a British slave, one of thousands throughout the French Empire. He has a job, a wife, a baby daughter. But he also has flashes of a life he cannot remember and of a world that never existed – a world where English is spoken in England, and not French. And now he has a postcard of a lighthouse built just six months ago, that was first written nearly one hundred years ago, by a stranger who seems to know him very well. Joe's journey to unravel the truth will take him from French-occupied London to a remote Scottish island, and back through time as he battles for his life – and for a very different future.

0 (0 Reviews)
0
0
0
0
0

Related Titles

Ellindale Saga Book 4: One Perfect Family Cover

Ellindale Saga Book 4: One Perfect Family

Author: Anna Jacobs

Ellindale Saga Book 4: One Perfect Family

Author Anna Jacobs

Narrator Anne Dover

SeriesEllindale Saga, Book 4

Duration 10h 46m

Lancashire, 1934. When Tam Crawford is unexpectedly bequeathed some money, he can finally realise his dream of settling down in the beautiful village of Ellindale. Tam knows he can be impulsive - his nickname isn't Crazy Tam for nothing! - but this time he is determined not to be ruled by his big heart and hot head. Yet somehow, within just one day...

View Book
The Lost Future of Pepperharrow Cover

The Lost Future of Pepperharrow

Author: Natasha Pulley

The Lost Future of Pepperharrow

Author Natasha Pulley

Narrator Thomas Judd

Duration 13h 40m

Escape into the enchanting world of The Watchmaker of Filigree Street. This extraordinary sequel transports readers to Japan, where time, destiny and love collide to electrifying effect 'A Japan that never was, a future lost, ghosts that are not dead ... not even a partial list of ingredients can do justice to this wonderful cake of a book ... A ti...

View Book
The Half Life of Valery K Cover

The Half Life of Valery K

Author: Natasha Pulley

The Half Life of Valery K

Author Natasha Pulley

Narrator Jot Davies

Duration 12h 40m

The Times Historical Fiction Book of the Month The truth must come out. In 1963, in a Siberian gulag, former nuclear specialist Valery Kolkhanov has mastered what it takes to survive: the right connections to the guards for access to food and cigarettes, the right pair of warm boots to avoid frostbite, and the right attitude toward the small pleasu...

View Book
The Last Kingdom Book 12: Sword of Kings Cover

The Last Kingdom Book 12: Sword of Kings

Author: Bernard Cornwell

The Last Kingdom Book 12: Sword of Kings

Author Bernard Cornwell

Narrator Matt Bates

SeriesThe Last Kingdom, Book 12

Duration 13h 27m

England is in turmoil as Vikings and Saxons battle for territory. Rumours build about the fatal sickness of the King, and the country awaits an heir. A violent clash at sea forces the warrior lord Uhtred to lead his men from his Northumbrian fortress to London and plunge into the eye of the storm. For two kings claim the empty throne and a new king...

View Book
The Lost Girls of Paris Cover

The Lost Girls of Paris

Author: Pam Jenoff

The Lost Girls of Paris

Author Pam Jenoff

Narrator Various

Duration 11h 42m

From the internationally best-selling author Pam Jenoff, The Lost Girls of Paris is an emotional and powerful journey through friendship and betrayal during the Second World War, inspired by true events. 1940s. With the world at war, Eleanor Trigg leads a mysterious ring of female secret agents in London. Twelve of these women are sent to aid the r...

View Book
Figures In Silk Cover

Figures In Silk

Author: Vanora Bennett

Figures In Silk

Author Vanora Bennett

Narrator Lucy Scott

Duration 13h 48m

As the Wars of the Roses draw slowly to a close, England is a place of turmoil. Edward IV is on the thrown but his position is unstable and he finds himself challenged by a man who would become Henry VII. But Isabel, a silk weaver to the court and mistress to Richard II, can cut through the turmoil with her clever ways and her pretty smile. Her sis...

View Book
The Mirror and the Light Cover

The Mirror and the Light

Author: Hilary Mantel

The Mirror and the Light

Author Hilary Mantel

Narrator Ben Miles

Duration 37h 55m

The long-awaited sequel to Wolf Hall and Bring Up the Bodies, the stunning conclusion to Hilary Mantel's Man Booker Prize-winning Thomas Cromwell trilogy. 'If you cannot speak truth at a beheading, when can you speak it?' England, May 1536. Anne Boleyn is dead, decapitated in the space of a heartbeat by a hired French executioner. As her remains ar...

View Book
The Confessions of Frannie Langton Cover

The Confessions of Frannie Langton

Author: Sara Collins

The Confessions of Frannie Langton

Author Sara Collins

Narrator Roy Mcmillan

Duration 12h 14m

Penguin presents the audiobook edition of The Confessions of Frannie Langton read by Sara Collins. They say I must be put to death for what happened to Madame, and they want me to confess. But how can I confess what I don't believe I've done? 1826, and all of London is in a frenzy. Crowds gather at the gates of the Old Bailey to watch as Frannie La...

View Book
Serotonin Cover

Serotonin

Author: Michel Houellebecq

Serotonin

Author Michel Houellebecq

Narrator John Sackville

Duration 8h 10m

Dissatisfied and discontent, Florent-Claude Labrouste begrudgingly works as an engineer for the Ministry of Agriculture, and is in a self-imposed dysfunctional relationship with a younger woman. When he discovers her ongoing infidelity, he decides to abandon his life in Paris and return to the Normandy countryside of his youth. There he contemplate...

View Book
The Parisian Cover

The Parisian

Author: Isabella Hammad

The Parisian

Author Isabella Hammad

Narrator Fiona Button

Duration 20h 31m

As the First World War shatters families, destroys friendships and kills lovers, a young Palestinian dreamer sets out to find himself. Midhat Kamal picks his way across a fractured world, from the shifting politics of the Middle East to the dinner tables of Montpellier and a newly tumultuous Paris. He discovers that everything is fragile: love turn...

View Book