Sign In Join Now
User Accessibility
  • Increase Font

  • Invert Colours

Search for a Book Browse Books Menu
The Six Penny Orphan Cover Play Sample

Sample may contain unsuitable content.

Stream / Download

Audiobook streaming provided by:

OverDrive Logo

Share this book:

The Six Penny Orphan

AuthorGlenda Young

NarratorJanine Birkett

Duration10h

CategoriesAdult Fiction, Historical Novels, Family Sagas

PublisherHodder Headline

VersionUnabridged

  Save to Wish List
  Add to Favourites List

After the death of their parents, sisters Poppy and Rose are taken in by widow Nellie Harper. But whilst they have a roof over their heads, the young orphans are unloved, unwanted, and always hungry, with only one pair of boots between them. Keen to make money, Nellie hatches a plan to sell the girls to the mysterious Mr Scurrfield. But when the day comes for them to leave, Scurrfield reveals he will take only one of the sisters - and he will decide which it will be on the turn of a sixpence. Ten years later, Poppy is married with three children. Not a day goes by when she doesn't think about Rose, but after many years of searching, Poppy has accepted that her sister is lost to her. That is until a letter suddenly arrives, revealing Rose's fate and breaking Poppy's heart. Determined to be reunited with her beloved sister, Poppy sets out to bring Rose home.

0 (0 Reviews)
0
0
0
0
0

Related Titles

The Confessions of Frannie Langton Cover

The Confessions of Frannie Langton

Author: Sara Collins

The Confessions of Frannie Langton

Author Sara Collins

Narrator Roy Mcmillan

Duration 12h 14m

Penguin presents the audiobook edition of The Confessions of Frannie Langton read by Sara Collins. They say I must be put to death for what happened to Madame, and they want me to confess. But how can I confess what I don't believe I've done? 1826, and all of London is in a frenzy. Crowds gather at the gates of the Old Bailey to watch as Frannie La...

View Book
Figures In Silk Cover

Figures In Silk

Author: Vanora Bennett

Figures In Silk

Author Vanora Bennett

Narrator Lucy Scott

Duration 13h 48m

As the Wars of the Roses draw slowly to a close, England is a place of turmoil. Edward IV is on the thrown but his position is unstable and he finds himself challenged by a man who would become Henry VII. But Isabel, a silk weaver to the court and mistress to Richard II, can cut through the turmoil with her clever ways and her pretty smile. Her sis...

View Book
Murder at the Seaview Hotel Cover

Murder at the Seaview Hotel

Author: Glenda Young

Murder at the Seaview Hotel

Author Glenda Young

Narrator Colleen Prendergast

SeriesHelen Dexter Cosy Crime Mystery, Book 1

Duration 8h 43m

In the charming Yorkshire seaside town of Scarborough, a murder is nothing to sing about.... After the death of her husband, Tom, Helen Dexter is contemplating her future as the now-sole proprietor of the Seaview Hotel. There's an offer from a hotel chain developer to consider, but also a booking from a group of 12 Elvis impersonators, a singing tr...

View Book
The Mirror and the Light Cover

The Mirror and the Light

Author: Hilary Mantel

The Mirror and the Light

Author Hilary Mantel

Narrator Ben Miles

Duration 37h 55m

The long-awaited sequel to Wolf Hall and Bring Up the Bodies, the stunning conclusion to Hilary Mantel's Man Booker Prize-winning Thomas Cromwell trilogy. 'If you cannot speak truth at a beheading, when can you speak it?' England, May 1536. Anne Boleyn is dead, decapitated in the space of a heartbeat by a hired French executioner. As her remains ar...

View Book
The Lost Girls of Paris Cover

The Lost Girls of Paris

Author: Pam Jenoff

The Lost Girls of Paris

Author Pam Jenoff

Narrator Various

Duration 11h 42m

From the internationally best-selling author Pam Jenoff, The Lost Girls of Paris is an emotional and powerful journey through friendship and betrayal during the Second World War, inspired by true events. 1940s. With the world at war, Eleanor Trigg leads a mysterious ring of female secret agents in London. Twelve of these women are sent to aid the r...

View Book
The Last Kingdom Book 12: Sword of Kings Cover

The Last Kingdom Book 12: Sword of Kings

Author: Bernard Cornwell

The Last Kingdom Book 12: Sword of Kings

Author Bernard Cornwell

Narrator Matt Bates

SeriesThe Last Kingdom, Book 12

Duration 13h 27m

England is in turmoil as Vikings and Saxons battle for territory. Rumours build about the fatal sickness of the King, and the country awaits an heir. A violent clash at sea forces the warrior lord Uhtred to lead his men from his Northumbrian fortress to London and plunge into the eye of the storm. For two kings claim the empty throne and a new king...

View Book
Foul Play at the Seaview Hotel Cover

Foul Play at the Seaview Hotel

Author: Glenda Young

Foul Play at the Seaview Hotel

Author Glenda Young

Narrator Colleen Prendergast

SeriesHelen Dexter Cosy Crime Mystery, Book 2

Duration 9h 16m

Helen Dexter is enjoying the new four-star status of the Seaview Hotel. But she begins to wonder if this accolade is cursed when a series of disasters strike. It starts when a crazy golf team arrive to play in a Scarborough tournament. Their odd behaviour heightens when the rival team captain turns up. Yet, there's worse to come for Helen when one...

View Book
The Women At Hitler's Table Cover

The Women At Hitler's Table

Author: Rosella Postorino

The Women At Hitler's Table

Author Rosella Postorino

Narrator Kristen Atherton

Duration 10h 51m

East Prussia, 1943. Hitler hides away in the Wolfsshanze - his hidden headquarters. The tide is turning in the war, and his enemies circle ever closer. Ten women are chosen. Ten women to taste his food and protect him from poison. Twenty-six-year-old Rosa has lost everything to this war. Her parents are dead. Her husband is fighting on the front li...

View Book
Curtain Call at the Sea View Hotel Cover

Curtain Call at the Sea View Hotel

Author: Glenda Young

Curtain Call at the Sea View Hotel

Author Glenda Young

Narrator Colleen Prendergast

SeriesHelen Dexter Cosy Crime Mystery, Book 2

Duration 9h 7m

The second in the pause-resisting cosy crime series from Glenda Young, this whodunnit is perfect for fans of Julia Chapman's Dales Detective Agency, Richard Osman's The Thursday Murder Club, Betty Rowlands and Helen Cox. In the charming Yorkshire seaside town of Scarborough, the stage is set for murder.... When a troupe of actors arrive in Scarboro...

View Book
The Parisian Cover

The Parisian

Author: Isabella Hammad

The Parisian

Author Isabella Hammad

Narrator Fiona Button

Duration 20h 31m

As the First World War shatters families, destroys friendships and kills lovers, a young Palestinian dreamer sets out to find himself. Midhat Kamal picks his way across a fractured world, from the shifting politics of the Middle East to the dinner tables of Montpellier and a newly tumultuous Paris. He discovers that everything is fragile: love turn...

View Book