Sign In Join Now
User Accessibility
  • Increase Font

  • Invert Colours

Search for a Book Browse Books Menu
Winternight Book 1: The Bear and the Nightingale Cover Play Sample

Sample may contain unsuitable content.

Stream / Download

Audiobook streaming provided by:

OverDrive Logo

Share this book:

Winternight Book 1: The Bear and the Nightingale

AuthorKatherine Arden

NarratorKathleen Gati

SeriesWinternight, Book 1

Duration11h 48m

CategoriesAdult Fiction, Science Fiction and Fantasy

PublisherEbury Publishing

VersionUnabridged

  Save to Wish List
  Add to Favourites List

Random House presents the unabridged, downloadable audiobook edition of The Bear and the Nightingale by Katherine Arden, read by Kathleen Gati.
_____________________________
Beware the evil in the woods...
In a village at the edge of the wilderness of northern Russia, where the winds blow cold and the snow falls many months of the year, an elderly servant tells stories of sorcery, folklore and the Winter King to the children of the family, tales of old magic frowned upon by the church.
But for the young, wild Vasya these are far more than just stories. She alone can see the house spirits that guard her home, and sense the growing forces of dark magic in the woods. . .
Atmospheric and enchanting, with an engrossing adventure at its core, The Bear and the Nightingale is perfect for readers of Naomi Novik's Uprooted, Erin Morgenstern's The Night Circus, and Philip Pullman's His Dark Materials.
_____________________________
Now with over 100 5* reviews, readers are spellbound by this magical story:
'This book stayed with me, I didn't want it to end'
'A beautifully written story'
'An entrancing story, which swept me up from the very first chapter'
'Full of magic'
_____________________________
Make sure you've read all the books in the acclaimed Winternight Trilogy
1. The Bear and the Nightingale
2. The Girl in the Tower
3. The Winter of the Witch

0 (0 Reviews)
0
0
0
0
0

Related Titles

The Choice Cover

The Choice

Author: Claire Wade

The Choice

Author Claire Wade

Narrator Emma Gregory

Duration 11h 55m

Imagine a world where.... Everything you ate was monitored by the government. Every step you took was counted. Your children were weighed every day at school. Neighbours reported on neighbours and no one was safe from judgement. Sugar was illegal, and baking was a crime. Imagine if that world was here.... What would you do? Toe the line or fight fo...

View Book
The Witcher Book 6: Seasons of Storms Cover

The Witcher Book 6: Seasons of Storms

Author: Andrzej Sapkowski

The Witcher Book 6: Seasons of Storms

Author Andrzej Sapkowski

Narrator Peter Kenny

SeriesThe Witcher, Book 6

Duration 11h 45m

Geralt. The witcher whose mission is to protect ordinary people from the monsters created with magic. A mutant who has the task of killing unnatural beings. He uses a magical sign, potions and the pride of every witcher - two swords, steel and silver. But what would happen if Geralt lost his weapons? Andrzej Sapkowski returns to his most popular he...

View Book
A Scanner Darkly Cover

A Scanner Darkly

Author: Philip K. Dick

A Scanner Darkly

Author Philip K. Dick

Narrator Paul Giamatti

Duration 9h 15m

Substance D - otherwise known as Death - is the most dangerous drug ever to find its way on to the black market. It destroys the links between the brain's two hemispheres, leading first to disorentation and then to complete and irreversible brain damage. Bob Arctor, undercover narcotics agent, is trying to find a lead to the source of supply, but t...

View Book
The Witcher Book 3: Baptism of Fire Cover

The Witcher Book 3: Baptism of Fire

Author: Andrzej Sapkowski

The Witcher Book 3: Baptism of Fire

Author Andrzej Sapkowski

Narrator Peter Kenny

SeriesThe Witcher, Book 3

Duration 11h 58m

The Wizards Guild has been shattered by a coup and, in the uproar, Geralt was seriously injured. The Witcher is supposed to be a guardian of the innocent, a protector of those in need, a defender against powerful and dangerous monsters that prey on men in dark times. But now that dark times have fallen upon the world, Geralt is helpless until he ha...

View Book
Small Spaces Cover

Small Spaces

Author: Katherine Arden

Small Spaces

Author Katherine Arden

Narrator Renee Dorian

Duration 5h 16m

After suffering a tragic loss, eleven-year-old Ollie only finds solace in books. So when she happens upon a crazed woman at the river threatening to throw a book into the water, Ollie doesn't think-she just acts, stealing the book and running away. As she begins to read the slender volume, Ollie discovers a chilling story about a girl named Beth, t...

View Book
Winternight Book 3: The Winter of the Witch Cover

Winternight Book 3: The Winter of the Witch

Author: Katherine Arden

Winternight Book 3: The Winter of the Witch

Author Katherine Arden

Narrator Kathleen Gati

SeriesWinternight, Book 3

Duration 14h

Random House presents the audiobook edition of The Winter of the Witch by Katherine Arden, read by Kathleen Gati.One girl can make a difference...Moscow is in flames, leaving its people searching for answers – and someone to blame. Vasilisa, a girl with extraordinary gifts, must flee for her life, pursued by those who blame their misfortune o...

View Book
Howl's Moving Castle Cover

Howl's Moving Castle

Author: Diana Wynne Jones

Howl's Moving Castle

Author Diana Wynne Jones

Narrator Kristin Atherton

Duration 8h 57m

In the land of Ingary, where seven league boots and invisibility cloaks exist, young Sophie Hatter catches the unwelcome attention of the Witch of the Waste and is put under a spell....Deciding she has nothing more to lose, Sophie makes her way to the moving castle that hovers on the hills above her town, Market Chipping. But the castle belongs to...

View Book
The Witcher: Sword of Destiny Cover

The Witcher: Sword of Destiny

Author: Andrzej Sapkowski

The Witcher: Sword of Destiny

Author Andrzej Sapkowski

Narrator Peter Kenny

Duration 12h 53m

Geralt is a witcher, a man whose magic powers, enhanced by long training and a mysterious elixir, have made him a brilliant fighter and a merciless assassin. Yet he is no ordinary murderer: his targets are the multifarious monsters and vile fiends that ravage the land and attack the innocent. He roams the country seeking assignments, but gradually...

View Book
Dead Voices Cover

Dead Voices

Author: Katherine Arden

Dead Voices

Author Katherine Arden

Narrator Renee Dorian

Duration 5h 32m

Having survived sinister scarecrows and the malevolent smiling man in Small Spaces, newly minted best friends Ollie, Coco, and Brian are ready to spend a relaxing winter break skiing together with their parents at Mount Hemlock Resort. But when a snowstorm sets in, causing the power to flicker out and the cold to creep closer and closer, the three...

View Book
Winternight Book 2: The Girl in the Tower Cover

Winternight Book 2: The Girl in the Tower

Author: Katherine Arden

Winternight Book 2: The Girl in the Tower

Author Katherine Arden

Narrator Kathleen Gati

SeriesWinternight, Book 2

Duration 13h 2m

Random House presents the audiobook edition of The Girl in the Tower by Katherine Arden, read by Kathleen Gati.For a young woman in medieval Russia, the choices are stark: marriage or a life in a convent. Vasya will choose a third way: magic...The court of the Grand Prince of Moscow is plagued by power struggles and rumours of unrest. Meanwhile ban...

View Book