Sign In Join Now
User Accessibility
  • Increase Font

  • Invert Colours

Search for a Book Browse Books Menu
A Very Typical Family Cover Play Sample

Sample may contain unsuitable content.

Stream / Download

Audiobook streaming provided by:

OverDrive Logo

Share this book:

A Very Typical Family

AuthorSierra Godfrey

NarratorGail Shalan

Duration10h 20m

CategoriesAdult Fiction, Novels

PublisherBlackstone Audiobooks

VersionUnabridged

  Save to Wish List
  Add to Favourites List

A propulsive contemporary women's fiction debut with dark humor and messy yet warm-hearted family dynamics, perfect for fans of Claire Lombardo's The Most Fun We Ever Had and Emma Straub's All Adults Here

All families are messy. Some are disasters.

Natalie Walker is the reason her older brother and sister went to prison over fifteen years ago. She fled California shortly after that fateful night and hasn't spoken to anyone in her family since. Now, on the same day her boyfriend steals her dream job out from under her, Natalie receives a letter from a lawyer saying her estranged mother has died and left the family's historic Santa Cruz house to her. Sort of. The only way for Natalie and her siblings to inherit is for all three adult children to come back and claim it―together.

Natalie drives cross-country to Santa Cruz with her willful cat in tow expecting to sign some papers, see siblings Lynn and Jake briefly, and get back to sorting out her life in Boston. But Jake, now an award-winning ornithologist, is missing. And Lynn, working as an undertaker in New York City, shows up with a teenage son. While Natalie and her nephew look for Jake―meeting a very handsome marine biologist who immediately captures her heart―she unpacks the guilt she has held onto for so many years, wondering how (or if) she can salvage a relationship with her siblings after all this time.

A Very Typical Family navigates the messy yet warm-hearted journey of a family struggling to find each other again. Written with delightfully dark humor and characters you can't help but cheer for, this debut from Sierra Godfrey will have you reveling in the power of family and second chances. No one can change the past, but every day is an opportunity to choose your future.

0 (0 Reviews)
0
0
0
0
0

Related Titles

Rodham Cover

Rodham

Author: Curtis Sittenfield

Rodham

Author Curtis Sittenfield

Narrator Carrington Macduffie

Duration 13h 58m

'Awfully opinionated for a girl' is what they call Hillary as she grows up in her Chicago suburb. Smart, diligent, and a bit plain, that's the general consensus. Then Hillary goes to college, and her star rises. At Yale Law School, she continues to be a leader- and catches the eye of driven, handsome and charismatic Bill. But when he asks her to ma...

View Book
So Lucky Cover

So Lucky

Author: Dawn O'Porter

So Lucky

Author Dawn O'Porter

Narrator Dawn O'Porter

Duration 9h 19m

Is anyone's life.... Beth shows that women really can have it all. Ruby lives life by her own rules. And then there's Lauren, living the dream. As perfect as it looks? Beth hasn't had sex in a year. Ruby feels like she's failing. Lauren's happiness is fake news. And it just takes one shocking event to make the truth come tumbling out...

View Book
Shuggie Bain Cover

Shuggie Bain

Author: Douglas Stuart

Shuggie Bain

Author Douglas Stuart

Narrator Angus King

Duration 17h 41m

This is the unforgettable story of young Hugh "Shuggie" Bain, a sweet and lonely boy who spends his 1980s childhood in run-down public housing in Glasgow, Scotland. Thatcher's policies have put husbands and sons out of work, and the city's notorious drugs epidemic is waiting in the wings. Shuggie's mother Agnes walks a wayward path: she is Shuggie'...

View Book
Queen Bee Cover

Queen Bee

Author: Jane Fallon

Queen Bee

Author Jane Fallon

Narrator Jo Joyner

Duration 10h 8m

Brought to you by Penguin. Welcome to The Close - a beautiful street of mansions, where gorgeous Stella is the indisputable Queen Bee . . . It is here that Laura, seeking peace and privacy after her marriage falls apart, rents a tiny studio. Unfortunately, her arrival upsets suspicious Stella - who fears Laura has designs on her fianc‚, Al. W...

View Book
Everything I Never Told You Cover

Everything I Never Told You

Author: Celeste Ng

Everything I Never Told You

Author Celeste Ng

Narrator Cassandra Campbell

Duration 10h 8m

Lydia is the favourite child of Marilyn and James Lee; a girl who inherited her mother's bright blue eyes and her father's jet-black hair. When Lydia's body is found in the local lake, James is consumed by guilt, and Marilyn, devastated and vengeful, is determined to hold someone accountable. But it's the youngest in the family - Hannah - who may b...

View Book
Postscript Cover

Postscript

Author: Cecelia Ahern

Postscript

Author Cecelia Ahern

Narrator Amy Huberman

Duration 9h 52m

When Holly Kennedy is approached by a group calling themselves the PS, I Love You Club, her safe existence is turned on its head. Inspired by hearing about her late husband Gerry's letters, the club wants Holly to help them with their own parting messages for their loved ones to discover after they're gone. Holly is sure of one thing: no way is she...

View Book
Real Life Cover

Real Life

Author: Brandon Taylor

Real Life

Author Brandon Taylor

Narrator Kevin R. Free

Duration 9h 25m

Almost everything about Wallace is at odds with the Midwestern university town where he is working uneasily toward a biochem degree. An introverted young man from Alabama, black and queer, he has left behind his family without escaping the long shadows of his childhood. For reasons of self-preservation, Wallace has enforced a wary distance even wit...

View Book
Summer At the Comfort Food Cafe Cover

Summer At the Comfort Food Cafe

Author: Debbie Johnson

Summer At the Comfort Food Cafe

Author Debbie Johnson

Narrator Dawn Murphy

Duration 9h 50m

The Comfort Food Cafe is perched on a windswept clifftop at what feels like the edge of the world, serving up the most delicious cream teas, beautifully baked breads and carefully crafted cupcakes. For tourists and locals alike, the ramshackle cafe overlooking the beach is a beacon of laughter, companionship and security - a place like no other, a...

View Book
This Mournable Body Cover

This Mournable Body

Author: Tsitsi Dangarembga

This Mournable Body

Author Tsitsi Dangarembga

Narrator Adenrele Ojo

Duration 11h 32m

Anxious about her prospects after leaving a stagnant job, Tambudzai finds herself living in a run-down youth hostel in downtown Harare. For reasons that include her grim financial prospects and her age, she moves to a widow's boarding house and eventually finds work as a biology teacher. But at every turn in her attempt to make a life for herself,...

View Book
The Bookish Life of Nina Hill Cover

The Bookish Life of Nina Hill

Author: Abbi Waxman

The Bookish Life of Nina Hill

Author Abbi Waxman

Narrator Jessica Preddy

Duration 9h 28m

Nina has her life just as she wants it: a job in a bookstore, a kick-butt trivia team, a world-class planner and a cat named Phil. When the father Nina never knew existed suddenly dies, leaving behind innumerable sisters, brothers, nieces, and nephews, Nina is horrified. They all live close by! They're excited to meet her! She'll have to Speak. To....

View Book