Sign In Join Now
User Accessibility
  • Increase Font

  • Invert Colours

Search for a Book Browse Books Menu
Stream / Download

Audiobook streaming provided by:

OverDrive Logo

Share this book:

Charlie Bass Series Book 1: The Racehorse That Wouldn't Gallop

AuthorClare Balding

NarratorClare Balding

SeriesCharlie Bass, Book 1

Duration3h 25m

CategoriesChildren's Fiction

Key StageKS2

PublisherPenguin

VersionUnabridged

  Save to Wish List
  Add to Favourites List

Charlie Bass is a horse-mad nine-year-old who dreams of owning her own pony. So when her eccentric parents announce that they are going to buy a racehorse, Charlie is thrilled. The horse they buy, Noble Warrior, looks the part: strong, fit and healthy. There's just one problem - he won't gallop. In fact, he won't even trot round the field without his best friend, Percy, a naughty palomino pony, at his side. But Charlie is convinced that Noble Warrior has what it takes to be a champion - he just needs the right motivation... A classic, funny animal story perfect for fans of Dick King-Smith and My Family and Other Animals.

0 (0 Reviews)
0
0
0
0
0

Related Titles

Charlie Bass Series Book 2: The Racehorse Who Disappeared Cover

Charlie Bass Series Book 2: The Racehorse Who Disappeared

Author: Clare Balding

Charlie Bass Series Book 2: The Racehorse Who Disappeared

Author Clare Balding

Narrator Clare Balding

SeriesCharlie Bass, Book 2

Duration 3h 50m

Penguin presents the audio download edition of The Racehorse Who Disappeared written and read by Clare Balding. Life is slowly getting back to normal for Charlie after her reluctant racehorse, Noble Warrior, won the Derby and saved her family from financial ruin. But drama soon returns to Folly Farm when thieves break into the farmyard in the dead...

View Book
The Ration Book Olympics Cover

The Ration Book Olympics

Author: Clare Balding

The Ration Book Olympics

Author Clare Balding

Narrator Clare Balding

Duration 1h

Clare Balding looks back at the last time that the Olympic Games came to London in 1948. Three years after the end of the Second World War, Britain was still gripped by austerity. Rationing was still in force, severe bomb damage was still much in evidence and no new sports facilities could be built. Visiting athletes were put up in schools and RAF...

View Book
The Racehorse Who Learned To Dance Cover

The Racehorse Who Learned To Dance

Author: Clare Balding

The Racehorse Who Learned To Dance

Author Clare Balding

Narrator Clare Balding

Duration 4h 30m

Penguin presents the audiobook edition of The Racehorse Who Learned to Dance written and read by Clare Balding. Charlie's racehorse has certainly earned the name Noble Warrior: he won the Derby against all odds and bested a bunch of nasty kidnappers. But now Noddy is facing his greatest challenge yet . . . Charlie's best friend Polly is still recov...

View Book
My Animals and Other Family Cover

My Animals and Other Family

Author: Clare Balding

My Animals and Other Family

Author Clare Balding

Narrator Clare Balding

Duration 9h

Clare Balding grew up in a rather unusual household. Her father a champion trainer, she shared her life with more than 100 thoroughbred racehorses, mares, foals and ponies, as well as an ever-present pack of boxers and lurchers. As a toddler she would happily ride the legendary Mill Reef and take breakfast with the Queen. She and her younger broth...

View Book
Walking Home: My Family and Other Rambles Cover

Walking Home: My Family and Other Rambles

Author: Clare Balding

Walking Home: My Family and Other Rambles

Author Clare Balding

Narrator Clare Balding

Duration 8h 30m

Clare Balding is on a mission to discover Britain and Ireland. She's conquered over 1,500 miles of footpaths, from the Pennine Way to the South-west Coast Path. As well as blisters and a twisted ankle, she's walked with extraordinary people - botanists, barefooted ramblers, whisky-drinking widowers... In Walking Home she shares these stories and te...

View Book