Sign In Join Now
User Accessibility
  • Increase Font

  • Invert Colours

Search for a Book Browse Books Menu
Smoke and Mirrors Cover Play Sample

Sample may contain unsuitable content.

Stream / Download

Audiobook streaming provided by:

OverDrive Logo

Share this book:

This book contains violent and/or sexual content.

Smoke and Mirrors

AuthorElly Griffiths

NarratorDaniel Philpott

SeriesBrighton Mysteries, Book 2

Duration8h 12m

CategoriesAdult Fiction, Crime, Thriller and Mysteries

PublisherW.F. Howes

VersionUnabridged

  Save to Wish List
  Add to Favourites List

Brighton, 1951. Pantomime season is in full swing with Max Mephisto starring in Aladdin. But Max's headlines have been stolen by the disappearance of two children. With fairy tales in the air, it's not long before the press have a nickname: 'Hansel and Gretel'. DI Edgar Stephens has plenty of leads to investigate. Does the clue lie in the missing girl's unfinished and disturbing last script? Or with the eccentric theatricals who have assembled for the pantomime?

0 (0 Reviews)
0
0
0
0
0

Related Titles

The Lantern Men: Ruth Galloway Book 12 Cover

The Lantern Men: Ruth Galloway Book 12

Author: Elly Griffiths

The Lantern Men: Ruth Galloway Book 12

Author Elly Griffiths

Narrator Jane Mcdowell

SeriesA Dr Ruth Galloway Mystery, Book 12

Duration 10h 16m

Everything has changed for Dr Ruth Galloway. She has a new job, home and partner and is no longer North Norfolk police's resident forensic archaeologist. That is, until convicted murderer Amyas March offers to make DCI Nelson a deal. Nelson was always sure that March killed more women than he was charged with. Now March confirms this and offers to...

View Book
The Stone Circle: Ruth Galloway Book 11 Cover

The Stone Circle: Ruth Galloway Book 11

Author: Elly Griffiths

The Stone Circle: Ruth Galloway Book 11

Author Elly Griffiths

Narrator Daniel Philpott

SeriesA Dr Ruth Galloway Mystery, Book 11

Duration 11h 58m

DCI Nelson has been receiving threatening letters telling him to 'go to the stone circle and rescue the innocent who is buried there'. He is shaken, not only because children are very much on his mind, with Michelle's baby due to be born, but because although the letters are anonymous, they are somehow familiar. They read like the letters that firs...

View Book
The Vanishing Box Cover

The Vanishing Box

Author: Elly Griffiths

The Vanishing Box

Author Elly Griffiths

Narrator Luke Thompson

SeriesBrighton Mysteries, Book 4

Duration 8h 12m

he fourth Brighton Mysteries story from the author of the best-selling Dr Ruth Galloway series - a must-read for fans of Bryant and May. What do a murdered Brighton flower seller, the death of Cleopatra, and a nude tableau show have in common? Listen to the most dangerous case yet for Stephens and Mephisto and find out. Christmas 1953. Max Mephisto...

View Book
Now You See Them Cover

Now You See Them

Author: Elly Griffiths

Now You See Them

Author Elly Griffiths

Narrator Luke Thompson

SeriesBrighton Mysteries, Book 5

Duration 8h

Three girls have left. None has come back. Brighton, 1963. Edgar Stephens has been promoted to Superintendent and is married to his former sergeant, Emma Holmes. Edgar's wartime partner in arms, magician Max Mephisto, is a movie star in Hollywood while his daughter Ruby has her own TV show. The funeral of an old friend highlights just how much the...

View Book
The Midnight Hour Cover

The Midnight Hour

Author: Elly Griffiths

The Midnight Hour

Author Elly Griffiths

Narrator Beth Eyre

SeriesBrighton Mysteries, Book 6

Duration 8h 35m

Brighton, 1965. When theatrical impresario Bert Billington is found dead in his retirement home, no one suspects foul play. But when the post-mortem reveals that he was poisoned, suspicion falls on his wife, eccentric ex-music hall star Verity Malone. Frustrated by the police response to Bert's death and determined to prove her innocence, Verity ca...

View Book
The Chalk Pit: Ruth Galloway Book 9 Cover

The Chalk Pit: Ruth Galloway Book 9

Author: Elly Griffiths

The Chalk Pit: Ruth Galloway Book 9

Author Elly Griffiths

Narrator Jane Mcdowell

SeriesA Dr Ruth Galloway Mystery, Book 9

Duration 9h 59m

Boiled human bones have been found in Norwich's web of underground tunnels. When forensic archaeologist Dr Ruth Galloway discovers the bones aren't as old as originally thought, it's time for DCI Nelson to launch a murder inquiry. What was initially just a medieval curiosity has taken a much more sinister nature.... Meanwhile, DS Judy Johnson is in...

View Book
The Great Deceiver Cover

The Great Deceiver

Author: Elly Griffiths

The Great Deceiver

Author Elly Griffiths

Narrator Beth Eyre

SeriesBrighton Mysteries, Book 7

Duration 8h 26m

Brighton, 1966. Max, now divorced and living in London, is on the way to visit Ruby and her new-born daughter when he is hailed by an old magician friend Ted English, aka The Great Deceiver. Ted is terrified because his assistant, Cherry, has been found dead in her Brighton boarding house and he's convinced that he'll be accused of her murder. Max...

View Book
The Outcast Dead: Ruth Galloway Book 6 Cover

The Outcast Dead: Ruth Galloway Book 6

Author: Elly Griffiths

The Outcast Dead: Ruth Galloway Book 6

Author Elly Griffiths

Narrator Clare Corbett

SeriesA Dr Ruth Galloway Mystery, Book 6

Duration 9h 19m

Forensic archaeologist Ruth Galloway has excavated a body from the grounds of Norwich Castle; it's believed to be that of infamous Victorian murderess Jemima Green, who was hanged in 1867 for the murder of five children in her care. DCI Harry Nelson is immersed in the case of three infants found dead, one after the other, in their King's Lynn home....

View Book
The Blood Card Cover

The Blood Card

Author: Elly Griffiths

The Blood Card

Author Elly Griffiths

Narrator Luke Thompson

SeriesBrighton Mysteries, Book 3

Duration 8h 26m

Elizabeth II's coronation is looming, but the murder of their wartime commander, Colonel Cartwright, spoils the happy mood for DI Edgar Stephens and magician Max Mephisto. Edgar is sent to New York on the trail of a small-town mesmerist who may provide the key. But it's Edgar's colleague, DS Emma Holmes, who finds the clue that leads them to an ana...

View Book
A Dying Fall: Ruth Galloway Book 5 Cover

A Dying Fall: Ruth Galloway Book 5

Author: Elly Griffiths

A Dying Fall: Ruth Galloway Book 5

Author Elly Griffiths

Narrator Clare Corbett

SeriesA Dr Ruth Galloway Mystery, Book 5

Duration 10h 26m

Ruth Galloway receives a phone call that bears shocking news. A friend of hers from college, Dan Golding, has been killed in a fire at his Lancashire home. Her shock turns to alarm when she gets a letter from Dan. He has made a discovery that will change archaeology forever but he needs Ruth's advice. Even more alarming, he sounds vulnerable and fr...

View Book