Sign In Join Now
User Accessibility
  • Increase Font

  • Invert Colours

Search for a Book Browse Books Menu
Stream / Download

Audiobook streaming provided by:

OverDrive Logo

Share this book:

The Ambulance Girl

AuthorTania Crosse

NarratorEmma Powell

Duration7h 28m

CategoriesAdult Fiction, Family Sagas, Historical Novels, Romance

PublisherW.F. Howes

VersionUnabridged

  Save to Wish List
  Add to Favourites List

A compelling wartime saga of love, loss and self-discovery at the battlefield's edge. Perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries, Rosie Goodwin, Dilly Court, Freda Lightfoot and Catherine Cookson. Originally published as Teardrops in the Moon. A YOUNG WOMAN WHO DOESN'T WANT TO BE TIED DOWN Dartmoor, 1914. Twenty-four-year-old Marianne Warrington is in danger of being left on the shelf. That's what her mother says and that's precisely how she wants it. She has her future mapped out and it doesn't include marriage or babies. Instead, she vows to devote herself to rearing horses on her parents' farm. BUT HISTORY HAS OTHER PLANS Then World War One breaks out and the Warringtons' peaceful existence is shattered forever. Amid the chaos, Marianne seizes her chance to prove she's more than just a spinster. When her brother leaves for the battlefield, Marianne is determined to follow. She signs up to serve as an ambulance driver in war-torn France. There, she witnesses unimaginable horrors. Yet there's one face she can't banish from her thoughts. It belongs to Major Albert Thorneycroft: a handsome and perplexing stranger who means more to Marianne than she'd care to admit. WHAT IF FINDING HAPPINESS MEANS LOSING HERSELF? As the war rages on, a battle ensues between Marianne's head and heart, testing her resolve like never before. TANIA CROSSE weaves blissfully human stories with impeccable research, giving her characters all the complexity and colour of real life. Tania has been shortlisted for Best Romantic Saga in the 60th annual RoNA Awards.

0 (0 Reviews)
0
0
0
0
0

Related Titles

The Last Kingdom Book 12: Sword of Kings Cover

The Last Kingdom Book 12: Sword of Kings

Author: Bernard Cornwell

The Last Kingdom Book 12: Sword of Kings

Author Bernard Cornwell

Narrator Matt Bates

SeriesThe Last Kingdom, Book 12

Duration 13h 27m

England is in turmoil as Vikings and Saxons battle for territory. Rumours build about the fatal sickness of the King, and the country awaits an heir. A violent clash at sea forces the warrior lord Uhtred to lead his men from his Northumbrian fortress to London and plunge into the eye of the storm. For two kings claim the empty throne and a new king...

View Book
Creature Comforts Cover

Creature Comforts

Author: Trisha Ashley

Creature Comforts

Author Trisha Ashley

Narrator Julia Barrie

Duration 12h 30m

Fall in back in love with life in this gripping listen about fate and second chances. The eagerly awaited new novel from the Sunday Times best-selling author. Thirty-year-old Izzy Sweetwell has a peaceful life. She lives in the sleepy village of Halfhidden with her aunt with her aunt Debo, who runs the local kennels, a home from home for waifs and...

View Book
The Wright Brothers Cover

The Wright Brothers

Author: David Mccullough

The Wright Brothers

Author David Mccullough

Narrator David Mccullough

SeriesNight Rebel, Book 2

Duration 10h 2m

The #1 New York Times bestseller from David McCullough, two-time winner of the Pulitzer Prize-the dramatic story-behind-the-story about the courageous brothers who taught the world how to fly-Wilbur and Orville Wright. On a winter day in 1903, in the Outer Banks of North Carolina, two brothers-bicycle mechanics from Dayton, Ohio-changed history. Bu...

View Book
The Mirror and the Light Cover

The Mirror and the Light

Author: Hilary Mantel

The Mirror and the Light

Author Hilary Mantel

Narrator Ben Miles

Duration 37h 55m

The long-awaited sequel to Wolf Hall and Bring Up the Bodies, the stunning conclusion to Hilary Mantel's Man Booker Prize-winning Thomas Cromwell trilogy. 'If you cannot speak truth at a beheading, when can you speak it?' England, May 1536. Anne Boleyn is dead, decapitated in the space of a heartbeat by a hired French executioner. As her remains ar...

View Book
If We're Not Married By Thirty Cover

If We're Not Married By Thirty

Author: Anna Bell

If We're Not Married By Thirty

Author Anna Bell

Narrator Rebecca Courtney

Duration 12h 5m

A brilliantly funny, romantic and effervescent read, If We're Not Married by Thirty is the irresistible new novel from the bestselling author of The Bucket List to Mend a Broken Heart and It Started With a Tweet. Lydia's not exactly Living Her Best Life. She never imagined she'd be here at thirty - newly single, a job that's going nowhere and her f...

View Book
The Lost Girls of Paris Cover

The Lost Girls of Paris

Author: Pam Jenoff

The Lost Girls of Paris

Author Pam Jenoff

Narrator Various

Duration 11h 42m

From the internationally best-selling author Pam Jenoff, The Lost Girls of Paris is an emotional and powerful journey through friendship and betrayal during the Second World War, inspired by true events. 1940s. With the world at war, Eleanor Trigg leads a mysterious ring of female secret agents in London. Twelve of these women are sent to aid the r...

View Book
The Railway Girl Cover

The Railway Girl

Author: Tania Crosse

The Railway Girl

Author Tania Crosse

Narrator Emma Powell

Duration 8h 44m

Devon, 1887. Life has not been kind to dairymaid Tresca Ladycott. She can't rely on her flighty farmhand father, Emmanuel, so she relies on herself. Then comes a devastating blow. Tresca is sacked from the dairy and the pair lose their home. She and her father seek a new life in bustling Tavistock. More hardship lies ahead. The only work to be foun...

View Book
Serotonin Cover

Serotonin

Author: Michel Houellebecq

Serotonin

Author Michel Houellebecq

Narrator John Sackville

Duration 8h 10m

Dissatisfied and discontent, Florent-Claude Labrouste begrudgingly works as an engineer for the Ministry of Agriculture, and is in a self-imposed dysfunctional relationship with a younger woman. When he discovers her ongoing infidelity, he decides to abandon his life in Paris and return to the Normandy countryside of his youth. There he contemplate...

View Book
Summer At the Comfort Food Cafe Cover

Summer At the Comfort Food Cafe

Author: Debbie Johnson

Summer At the Comfort Food Cafe

Author Debbie Johnson

Narrator Dawn Murphy

Duration 9h 50m

The Comfort Food Cafe is perched on a windswept clifftop at what feels like the edge of the world, serving up the most delicious cream teas, beautifully baked breads and carefully crafted cupcakes. For tourists and locals alike, the ramshackle cafe overlooking the beach is a beacon of laughter, companionship and security - a place like no other, a...

View Book
The Women At Hitler's Table Cover

The Women At Hitler's Table

Author: Rosella Postorino

The Women At Hitler's Table

Author Rosella Postorino

Narrator Kristen Atherton

Duration 10h 51m

East Prussia, 1943. Hitler hides away in the Wolfsshanze - his hidden headquarters. The tide is turning in the war, and his enemies circle ever closer. Ten women are chosen. Ten women to taste his food and protect him from poison. Twenty-six-year-old Rosa has lost everything to this war. Her parents are dead. Her husband is fighting on the front li...

View Book