Sign In Join Now
User Accessibility
  • Increase Font

  • Invert Colours

Search for a Book Browse Books Menu
The Convent Girl Cover
Stream / Download

Audiobook streaming provided by:

OverDrive Logo

Share this book:

The Convent Girl

AuthorTania Crosse

NarratorEmma Powell

Duration11h 31m

CategoriesAdult Fiction, Historical Novels, Romance, Family Sagas

PublisherLamplight Audiobooks

VersionUnabridged

  Save to Wish List
  Add to Favourites List

1941. Bombs are falling all over Plymouth. Young Maisie O'Sullivan must make a choice that will change her life for ever. Maisie yearns for a family of her own. Raised as a charity orphan in a Catholic convent in Ireland, she believed she was all alone in the world. But when she is twelve, her world is turned upside down by a shocking revelation. She is uprooted from the only life she has ever known, and transplanted against her will to Plymouth, England. Family might not be all it's cracked up to be. But Maisie is resilient. She surrounds herself with a family of her own making. Lovely old Zeek, her grandfather-like neighbour. Feisty Kitty, her inseparable friend. Young fisherman Nick, her kind and patient boyfriend. Then war breaks out across Europe and a horrific tragedy occurs during one of the worst nights of the Plymouth Blitz. Maisie makes a momentous decision that will take her life in a very unexpected direction . . . But will she be able to live with the consequences? Fans of Nadine Dorries, Rosie Goodwin, Dilly Court, Freda Lightfoot, Anna Jacobs, Rosie Clarke and Catherine Cookson will adore this compelling tale of secrets, betrayal and friendship spanning generations.

0 (0 Reviews)
0
0
0
0
0

Related Titles

The Mirror and the Light Cover

The Mirror and the Light

Author: Hilary Mantel

The Mirror and the Light

Author Hilary Mantel

Narrator Ben Miles

Duration 37h 55m

The long-awaited sequel to Wolf Hall and Bring Up the Bodies, the stunning conclusion to Hilary Mantel's Man Booker Prize-winning Thomas Cromwell trilogy. 'If you cannot speak truth at a beheading, when can you speak it?' England, May 1536. Anne Boleyn is dead, decapitated in the space of a heartbeat by a hired French executioner. As her remains ar...

View Book
The Corner Shop In Cockleberry Bay Cover

The Corner Shop In Cockleberry Bay

Author: Nicola May

The Corner Shop In Cockleberry Bay

Author Nicola May

Narrator Penny Scott-Andrews

Duration 8h 10m

Rosa Larkin is down on her luck in London, so when she inherits a near-derelict corner shop in a quaint Devon village, her first thought is to sell it for cash and sort out her life. But nothing is straightforward about this legacy. While the identity of her benefactor remains a mystery, he - or she - has left one important legal proviso: that the...

View Book
If We're Not Married By Thirty Cover

If We're Not Married By Thirty

Author: Anna Bell

If We're Not Married By Thirty

Author Anna Bell

Narrator Rebecca Courtney

Duration 12h 5m

A brilliantly funny, romantic and effervescent read, If We're Not Married by Thirty is the irresistible new novel from the bestselling author of The Bucket List to Mend a Broken Heart and It Started With a Tweet. Lydia's not exactly Living Her Best Life. She never imagined she'd be here at thirty - newly single, a job that's going nowhere and her f...

View Book
Coming Home To the Comfort Food Cafe Cover

Coming Home To the Comfort Food Cafe

Author: Debbie Johnson

Coming Home To the Comfort Food Cafe

Author Debbie Johnson

Narrator Madeleine Hyland

Duration 9h 8m

Moving to the little village of Budbury, Zoe hopes the crisp Dorset sea breeze and gentle pace of life will be a fresh start for her and her goddaughter, Martha. Luckily for them both, the friendly community at the caf‚ provide listening ears, sage advice, shoulders to cry on and some truly excellent carrot cake. And when Martha's enigmatic,...

View Book
Summer At the Comfort Food Cafe Cover

Summer At the Comfort Food Cafe

Author: Debbie Johnson

Summer At the Comfort Food Cafe

Author Debbie Johnson

Narrator Dawn Murphy

Duration 9h 50m

The Comfort Food Cafe is perched on a windswept clifftop at what feels like the edge of the world, serving up the most delicious cream teas, beautifully baked breads and carefully crafted cupcakes. For tourists and locals alike, the ramshackle cafe overlooking the beach is a beacon of laughter, companionship and security - a place like no other, a...

View Book
Creature Comforts Cover

Creature Comforts

Author: Trisha Ashley

Creature Comforts

Author Trisha Ashley

Narrator Julia Barrie

Duration 12h 30m

Fall in back in love with life in this gripping listen about fate and second chances. The eagerly awaited new novel from the Sunday Times best-selling author. Thirty-year-old Izzy Sweetwell has a peaceful life. She lives in the sleepy village of Halfhidden with her aunt with her aunt Debo, who runs the local kennels, a home from home for waifs and...

View Book
The Women At Hitler's Table Cover

The Women At Hitler's Table

Author: Rosella Postorino

The Women At Hitler's Table

Author Rosella Postorino

Narrator Kristen Atherton

Duration 10h 51m

East Prussia, 1943. Hitler hides away in the Wolfsshanze - his hidden headquarters. The tide is turning in the war, and his enemies circle ever closer. Ten women are chosen. Ten women to taste his food and protect him from poison. Twenty-six-year-old Rosa has lost everything to this war. Her parents are dead. Her husband is fighting on the front li...

View Book
The Railway Girl Cover

The Railway Girl

Author: Tania Crosse

The Railway Girl

Author Tania Crosse

Narrator Emma Powell

Duration 8h 44m

Devon, 1887. Life has not been kind to dairymaid Tresca Ladycott. She can't rely on her flighty farmhand father, Emmanuel, so she relies on herself. Then comes a devastating blow. Tresca is sacked from the dairy and the pair lose their home. She and her father seek a new life in bustling Tavistock. More hardship lies ahead. The only work to be foun...

View Book
The Last Kingdom Book 12: Sword of Kings Cover

The Last Kingdom Book 12: Sword of Kings

Author: Bernard Cornwell

The Last Kingdom Book 12: Sword of Kings

Author Bernard Cornwell

Narrator Matt Bates

SeriesThe Last Kingdom, Book 12

Duration 13h 27m

England is in turmoil as Vikings and Saxons battle for territory. Rumours build about the fatal sickness of the King, and the country awaits an heir. A violent clash at sea forces the warrior lord Uhtred to lead his men from his Northumbrian fortress to London and plunge into the eye of the storm. For two kings claim the empty throne and a new king...

View Book
The Ambulance Girl Cover

The Ambulance Girl

Author: Tania Crosse

The Ambulance Girl

Author Tania Crosse

Narrator Emma Powell

Duration 7h 28m

A compelling wartime saga of love, loss and self-discovery at the battlefield's edge. Perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries, Rosie Goodwin, Dilly Court, Freda Lightfoot and Catherine Cookson. Originally published as Teardrops in the Moon. A YOUNG WOMAN WHO DOESN'T WANT TO BE TIED DOWN Dartmoor, 1914. Twenty-four-year-old Marianne Warrington is in dang...

View Book