Sign In Join Now
User Accessibility
  • Increase Font

  • Invert Colours

Search for a Book Browse Books Menu
A Body by the Lighthouse Cover
Stream / Download

Audiobook streaming provided by:

OverDrive Logo

Share this book:

A Body by the Lighthouse

AuthorHelen Cox

NarratorColleen Prendergast

SeriesThe Kitt Hartley Yorkshire Mysteries, Book 6

Duration6h 49m

CategoriesAdult Fiction, Crime, Thriller and Mysteries

PublisherQuercus

VersionUnabridged

  Save to Wish List
  Add to Favourites List

The latest Kitt Hartley mystery, perfect for fans of Betty Rowland and Faith Martin. Private Investigator Kitt Hartley and her twin sister, Rebecca, are preparing for a holiday in Scotland when cruise ship entertainer Errol Jackson appears at the door. Errol breaks the news that Bryce Griffin, a former smuggler and an old friend of Kitt's, has been murdered; his body found washed up by a lighthouse, bearing a gunshot wound. Kitt persuades Rebecca to cancel their trip, and, together with Kitt's assistant, Grace Edwards, and best friend, Evie Bowes, book onto the next cruise to Norway to help with the ongoing murder investigation. Aboard the cruise ship, Kitt, Grace and Rebecca encounter burlesque dancers, casino dealers, drag queens and a talking parrot named Skittles - seemingly the only witness to Bryce's death. But what dark secrets are lurking below deck? Can Kitt catch the killer before it's too late?

0 (0 Reviews)
0
0
0
0
0

Related Titles

Murder by the Minster Cover

Murder by the Minster

Author: Helen Cox

Murder by the Minster

Author Helen Cox

Narrator Eilidh Beaton

SeriesThe Kitt Hartley Yorkshire Mysteries, Book 1

Duration 11h 22m

It's a perfectly normal day for Kitt Hartley at her job at the University of the Vale of York library, until Detective Inspector Halloran arrives at her desk to tell her that her best friend, Evie Bowes, is under suspicion of murder. Evie's ex-boyfriend Owen has been found dead - with a fountain pen stabbed through his heart - and all the evidence...

View Book
Tony Hill and Carol Jordan Book 11: How the Dead Speak Cover

Tony Hill and Carol Jordan Book 11: How the Dead Speak

Author: Val Mcdermid

Tony Hill and Carol Jordan Book 11: How the Dead Speak

Author Val Mcdermid

Narrator Saul Reichlin

SeriesTony Hill and Carol Jordan, Book 11

Duration 12h 16m

After an explosive case that forced Tony Hill and Carol Jordan to reassess everything they thought they knew about right and wrong, both are dealing with the fallout in their own separate ways. While Tony must pay the price for his actions, Carol is conducting investigations into suspected miscarriages of justice. But when a shocking discovery is m...

View Book
Patrik Hedstrom Book 10: The Girl In the Woods Cover

Patrik Hedstrom Book 10: The Girl In the Woods

Author: Camilla Lackberg

Patrik Hedstrom Book 10: The Girl In the Woods

Author Camilla Lackberg

Narrator Robin Bowerman

SeriesPatrik Hedstrom, Book 10

Duration 21h 41m

A missing child When a four-year-old girl disappears in the woods outside Fj„llbacka, people are horror-struck. Thirty years ago, a child went missing from the same spot, and was later discovered, murdered. A murder Back then, two teenage girls were found guilty of the killing. Could one of them be the culprit this time? Detective Patrik Heds...

View Book
Murder on the Moorland Cover

Murder on the Moorland

Author: Helen Cox

Murder on the Moorland

Author Helen Cox

Narrator Eilidh Beaton

SeriesThe Kitt Hartley Yorkshire Mysteries, Book 3

Duration 8h 25m

Kitt Hartley wakes to the news that a murder has been committed in Irendale, a village high on the wild Yorkshire moors where her boyfriend, DI Malcolm Halloran lived with his ex-wife until she, too, was murdered. The MO of the two crimes is identical, right down to the runic symbols carved into the victims' hands. Unable to leave it to the local p...

View Book
A Body in the Bookshop Cover

A Body in the Bookshop

Author: Helen Cox

A Body in the Bookshop

Author Helen Cox

Narrator Eilidh Beaton

SeriesThe Kitt Hartley Yorkshire Mysteries, Book 2

Duration 8h 52m

A cosy mystery set in the picturesque city of York. Perfect for fans of Betty Rowlands, LJ Ross and Faith Martin. Librarian Kitt Hartley thought her life had gone back to normal after the shocking events of Murder by the Minster. Then her friend Evie Bowes breaks some bad news: DS Charlotte Banks has been suspended from duty, on suspicion of assaul...

View Book
Gaudy Night Cover

Gaudy Night

Author: Dorothy L Sayers

Gaudy Night

Author Dorothy L Sayers

Narrator Ian Carmichael

SeriesLord Peter Wimsey, Book 10

Duration 2h 30m

When Harriet Vane attends her Oxford reunion, known as the 'Gaudy', the prim academic setting is haunted by a rash of bizarre pranks: scrawled obscenities, burnt effigies and poison-pen letters - including one that says, 'Ask your boyfriend with the title if he likes arsenic in his soup.' Some of the notes threaten murder and one of them involves a...

View Book
A Witch Hunt in Whitby Cover

A Witch Hunt in Whitby

Author: Helen Cox

A Witch Hunt in Whitby

Author Helen Cox

Narrator Colleen Prendergast

SeriesThe Kitt Hartley Yorkshire Mysteries, Book 5

Duration 6h 54m

The latest Kitt Hartley mystery, set in the heart of Yorkshire. A serial killer is loose in Yorkshire and has claimed three victims in three months. Eleven days before each murder, a large purple V is painted on the front door of the victim's house. The victims, all of whom have some association with the occult, are found drained of blood with two...

View Book
A Body in the Borderlands Cover

A Body in the Borderlands

Author: Helen Cox

A Body in the Borderlands

Author Helen Cox

Narrator Colleen Prendergast

SeriesThe Kitt Hartley Yorkshire Mysteries, Book 8

Duration 7h 20m

Former investment banker Johan Golding - Joe to his friends - is the newest member of the Hartley and Edwards Investigations team. And he's thrilled to be shadowing Kitt Hartley, librarian-turned-top sleuth, and her right-hand woman Grace Edwards. But Joe finds himself thrown in at the deep end when a man known as Ralph Holmes goes missing on the o...

View Book
Dr Alex Gregory Book 1: Imposter Cover

Dr Alex Gregory Book 1: Imposter

Author: Lj Ross

Dr Alex Gregory Book 1: Imposter

Author Lj Ross

Narrator Hugh Dancy

SeriesAlex Gregory, Book 1

Duration 7h 6m

From the International Number 1 Bestselling Author of the DCI Ryan Mysteries. Impostor is the first instalment in Ross' brand new Dr Alex Gregory series, narrated by actor Hugh Dancy. After an elite criminal profiling unit is shut down amid a storm of scandal and mismanagement, only one person emerges unscathed. Forensic psychiatrist Doctor Alexand...

View Book
Murder in a Mill Town Cover

Murder in a Mill Town

Author: Helen Cox

Murder in a Mill Town

Author Helen Cox

Narrator Colleen Prendergast

SeriesThe Kitt Hartley Yorkshire Mysteries, Book 7

Duration 7h 14m

Another instalment in the brilliant Kitt Hartley Yorkshire Mysteries, perfect for fans of Faith Martin and Betty Rowlands. When a violent murder shatters the otherwise peaceful idyll of Andaby near Hebden Bridge, DS Charlotte Banks can't help but suspect that her brother Ewan—recently released from prison and now living in Calderdale—is...

View Book