Sign In Join Now
User Accessibility
  • Increase Font

  • Invert Colours

Search for a Book Browse Books Menu
Murder on the Moorland Cover
Stream / Download

Audiobook streaming provided by:

OverDrive Logo

Share this book:

Murder on the Moorland

AuthorHelen Cox

NarratorEilidh Beaton

SeriesThe Kitt Hartley Yorkshire Mysteries, Book 3

Duration8h 25m

CategoriesAdult Fiction, Crime, Thriller and Mysteries

PublisherQuercus

VersionUnabridged

  Save to Wish List
  Add to Favourites List

Kitt Hartley wakes to the news that a murder has been committed in Irendale, a village high on the wild Yorkshire moors where her boyfriend, DI Malcolm Halloran lived with his ex-wife until she, too, was murdered. The MO of the two crimes is identical, right down to the runic symbols carved into the victims' hands. Unable to leave it to the local police to solve, Kitt and Halloran travel to Irendale, where a literary mystery awaits. A line of Anglo-Saxon poetry found on the victim leads to a hiding place, and another cryptic clue. Did the victim know she was going to die? Is she trying to help solve her own murder from beyond the grave? And what is the connect to the murder of Halloran's wife all those years ago? It will take the combined ingenuity of Kitt and Halloran, as well as Evie Bowes, Grace Edwards and, despite their best efforts, Ruby the (possible) psychic to solve this case. The moors may be beautiful, but they're not peaceful!

0 (0 Reviews)
0
0
0
0
0

Related Titles

Murder in a Mill Town Cover

Murder in a Mill Town

Author: Helen Cox

Murder in a Mill Town

Author Helen Cox

Narrator Colleen Prendergast

SeriesThe Kitt Hartley Yorkshire Mysteries, Book 7

Duration 7h 14m

Another instalment in the brilliant Kitt Hartley Yorkshire Mysteries, perfect for fans of Faith Martin and Betty Rowlands. When a violent murder shatters the otherwise peaceful idyll of Andaby near Hebden Bridge, DS Charlotte Banks can't help but suspect that her brother Ewan—recently released from prison and now living in Calderdale—is...

View Book
A Body by the Lighthouse Cover

A Body by the Lighthouse

Author: Helen Cox

A Body by the Lighthouse

Author Helen Cox

Narrator Colleen Prendergast

SeriesThe Kitt Hartley Yorkshire Mysteries, Book 6

Duration 6h 49m

The latest Kitt Hartley mystery, perfect for fans of Betty Rowland and Faith Martin. Private Investigator Kitt Hartley and her twin sister, Rebecca, are preparing for a holiday in Scotland when cruise ship entertainer Errol Jackson appears at the door. Errol breaks the news that Bryce Griffin, a former smuggler and an old friend of Kitt's, has been...

View Book
Karen Pirie Book 5: Broken Ground Cover

Karen Pirie Book 5: Broken Ground

Author: Val Mcdermid

Karen Pirie Book 5: Broken Ground

Author Val Mcdermid

Narrator Cathleen Mccarron

SeriesKaren Pirie, Book 5

Duration 12h 57m

When a body is discovered in the remote depths of the Highlands, DCI Karen Pirie finds herself in the right place at the right time. Unearthed with someone's long-buried inheritance, the victim seems to belong to the distant past - until new evidence suggests otherwise, and Karen is called in to unravel a case where nothing is as it seems. It's not...

View Book
Dr Alex Gregory Book 1: Imposter Cover

Dr Alex Gregory Book 1: Imposter

Author: Lj Ross

Dr Alex Gregory Book 1: Imposter

Author Lj Ross

Narrator Hugh Dancy

SeriesAlex Gregory, Book 1

Duration 7h 6m

From the International Number 1 Bestselling Author of the DCI Ryan Mysteries. Impostor is the first instalment in Ross' brand new Dr Alex Gregory series, narrated by actor Hugh Dancy. After an elite criminal profiling unit is shut down amid a storm of scandal and mismanagement, only one person emerges unscathed. Forensic psychiatrist Doctor Alexand...

View Book
Murder by the Minster Cover

Murder by the Minster

Author: Helen Cox

Murder by the Minster

Author Helen Cox

Narrator Eilidh Beaton

SeriesThe Kitt Hartley Yorkshire Mysteries, Book 1

Duration 11h 22m

It's a perfectly normal day for Kitt Hartley at her job at the University of the Vale of York library, until Detective Inspector Halloran arrives at her desk to tell her that her best friend, Evie Bowes, is under suspicion of murder. Evie's ex-boyfriend Owen has been found dead - with a fountain pen stabbed through his heart - and all the evidence...

View Book
The Promise Cover

The Promise

Author: Katerina Diamond

The Promise

Author Katerina Diamond

Narrator Stevie Lacey

Duration 10h 38m

When a young woman is found strangled in her own bedroom, DS Imogen Grey and DS Adrian Miles are plunged into an investigation to find a twisted serial killer who likes to date his victims before he kills them. Determined to stop the horrific deaths, Imogen is forced to act as bait - but will she get caught in her own trap? As the search for the ki...

View Book
Patrik Hedstrom Book 10: The Girl In the Woods Cover

Patrik Hedstrom Book 10: The Girl In the Woods

Author: Camilla Lackberg

Patrik Hedstrom Book 10: The Girl In the Woods

Author Camilla Lackberg

Narrator Robin Bowerman

SeriesPatrik Hedstrom, Book 10

Duration 21h 41m

A missing child When a four-year-old girl disappears in the woods outside Fj„llbacka, people are horror-struck. Thirty years ago, a child went missing from the same spot, and was later discovered, murdered. A murder Back then, two teenage girls were found guilty of the killing. Could one of them be the culprit this time? Detective Patrik Heds...

View Book
A Body in the Borderlands Cover

A Body in the Borderlands

Author: Helen Cox

A Body in the Borderlands

Author Helen Cox

Narrator Colleen Prendergast

SeriesThe Kitt Hartley Yorkshire Mysteries, Book 8

Duration 7h 20m

Former investment banker Johan Golding - Joe to his friends - is the newest member of the Hartley and Edwards Investigations team. And he's thrilled to be shadowing Kitt Hartley, librarian-turned-top sleuth, and her right-hand woman Grace Edwards. But Joe finds himself thrown in at the deep end when a man known as Ralph Holmes goes missing on the o...

View Book
Dr Alex Gregory Book 2: Hysteria Cover

Dr Alex Gregory Book 2: Hysteria

Author: Lj Ross

Dr Alex Gregory Book 2: Hysteria

Author Lj Ross

Narrator Hugh Dancy

SeriesAlex Gregory, Book 2

Duration 6h 52m

From the International Number 1 Bestselling Author of the DCI Ryan Mysteries. Hysteria is the second instalment in Ross' brand new Dr Alex Gregory series, narrated by actor Hugh Dancy. Recently returned from his last case in Ireland, elite forensic psychologist and criminal profiler Dr Alexander Gregory receives a call from the French police that h...

View Book
Death Awaits in Durham Cover

Death Awaits in Durham

Author: Helen Cox

Death Awaits in Durham

Author Helen Cox

Narrator Colleen Prendergast

SeriesThe Kitt Hartley Yorkshire Mysteries, Book 4

Duration 7h 37m

A gripping cosy mystery set in Durham, for fans of Faith Martin and Betty Rowlands. When librarian and budding Private Investigator Kitt Hartley visits her ex-assistant Grace Edwards in Durham, she soon learns of an unsolved murder.  A year ago, Jodie Perkins, a Mechanics student, disappeared after her student-radio broadcast was cut short w...

View Book