Sign In Join Now
User Accessibility
  • Increase Font

  • Invert Colours

Search for a Book Browse Books Menu
Murder in a Mill Town Cover
Stream / Download

Audiobook streaming provided by:

OverDrive Logo

Share this book:

Murder in a Mill Town

AuthorHelen Cox

NarratorColleen Prendergast

SeriesThe Kitt Hartley Yorkshire Mysteries, Book 7

Duration7h 14m

CategoriesAdult Fiction, Crime, Thriller and Mysteries

PublisherQuercus

VersionUnabridged

  Save to Wish List
  Add to Favourites List

Another instalment in the brilliant Kitt Hartley Yorkshire Mysteries, perfect for fans of Faith Martin and Betty Rowlands. When a violent murder shatters the otherwise peaceful idyll of Andaby near Hebden Bridge, DS Charlotte Banks can't help but suspect that her brother Ewan—recently released from prison and now living in Calderdale—is behind it. Ewan claims he's innocent, and even has an alibi to prove it, but DS Banks isn't convinced. So much so that she turns to the only people who can help her in an investigation this personal: Kitt Hartley and Grace Edwards, of Hartley and Edwards Investigations. On the hunt for the killer, Kitt and Grace discover the victim was choked to death on her old school sash. From this lead, Kitt, Grace and DS Banks are drawn down a dark trail littered with decade-old grudges, schoolyard secrets, broken hearts and bullies, and struggle to get closer to the truth. When a second victim goes missing however, the clock starts ticking.

0 (0 Reviews)
0
0
0
0
0

Related Titles

A Body in the Borderlands Cover

A Body in the Borderlands

Author: Helen Cox

A Body in the Borderlands

Author Helen Cox

Narrator Colleen Prendergast

SeriesThe Kitt Hartley Yorkshire Mysteries, Book 8

Duration 7h 20m

Former investment banker Johan Golding - Joe to his friends - is the newest member of the Hartley and Edwards Investigations team. And he's thrilled to be shadowing Kitt Hartley, librarian-turned-top sleuth, and her right-hand woman Grace Edwards. But Joe finds himself thrown in at the deep end when a man known as Ralph Holmes goes missing on the o...

View Book
Tony Hill and Carol Jordan Book 9: Splinter the Silence Cover

Tony Hill and Carol Jordan Book 9: Splinter the Silence

Author: Val Mcdermid

Tony Hill and Carol Jordan Book 9: Splinter the Silence

Author Val Mcdermid

Narrator Saul Reichlin

SeriesTony Hill and Carol Jordan, Book 9

Duration 12h 47m

When psychological profiler Tony Hill comes across a series of suicides among women tormented by vicious online predators, he begins to wonder if there is more to these tragedies than meets the eye. Could it be murder? But what kind of serial killer wants his crimes to stay hidden? Tony and DCI Carol Jordan begin the hunt for the most dangerous and...

View Book
Dr Alex Gregory Book 1: Imposter Cover

Dr Alex Gregory Book 1: Imposter

Author: Lj Ross

Dr Alex Gregory Book 1: Imposter

Author Lj Ross

Narrator Hugh Dancy

SeriesAlex Gregory, Book 1

Duration 7h 6m

From the International Number 1 Bestselling Author of the DCI Ryan Mysteries. Impostor is the first instalment in Ross' brand new Dr Alex Gregory series, narrated by actor Hugh Dancy. After an elite criminal profiling unit is shut down amid a storm of scandal and mismanagement, only one person emerges unscathed. Forensic psychiatrist Doctor Alexand...

View Book
Murder on the Moorland Cover

Murder on the Moorland

Author: Helen Cox

Murder on the Moorland

Author Helen Cox

Narrator Eilidh Beaton

SeriesThe Kitt Hartley Yorkshire Mysteries, Book 3

Duration 8h 25m

Kitt Hartley wakes to the news that a murder has been committed in Irendale, a village high on the wild Yorkshire moors where her boyfriend, DI Malcolm Halloran lived with his ex-wife until she, too, was murdered. The MO of the two crimes is identical, right down to the runic symbols carved into the victims' hands. Unable to leave it to the local p...

View Book
Murder by the Minster Cover

Murder by the Minster

Author: Helen Cox

Murder by the Minster

Author Helen Cox

Narrator Eilidh Beaton

SeriesThe Kitt Hartley Yorkshire Mysteries, Book 1

Duration 11h 22m

It's a perfectly normal day for Kitt Hartley at her job at the University of the Vale of York library, until Detective Inspector Halloran arrives at her desk to tell her that her best friend, Evie Bowes, is under suspicion of murder. Evie's ex-boyfriend Owen has been found dead - with a fountain pen stabbed through his heart - and all the evidence...

View Book
The Promise Cover

The Promise

Author: Katerina Diamond

The Promise

Author Katerina Diamond

Narrator Stevie Lacey

Duration 10h 38m

When a young woman is found strangled in her own bedroom, DS Imogen Grey and DS Adrian Miles are plunged into an investigation to find a twisted serial killer who likes to date his victims before he kills them. Determined to stop the horrific deaths, Imogen is forced to act as bait - but will she get caught in her own trap? As the search for the ki...

View Book
Tony Hill and Carol Jordan Book 11: How the Dead Speak Cover

Tony Hill and Carol Jordan Book 11: How the Dead Speak

Author: Val Mcdermid

Tony Hill and Carol Jordan Book 11: How the Dead Speak

Author Val Mcdermid

Narrator Saul Reichlin

SeriesTony Hill and Carol Jordan, Book 11

Duration 12h 16m

After an explosive case that forced Tony Hill and Carol Jordan to reassess everything they thought they knew about right and wrong, both are dealing with the fallout in their own separate ways. While Tony must pay the price for his actions, Carol is conducting investigations into suspected miscarriages of justice. But when a shocking discovery is m...

View Book
Death Awaits in Durham Cover

Death Awaits in Durham

Author: Helen Cox

Death Awaits in Durham

Author Helen Cox

Narrator Colleen Prendergast

SeriesThe Kitt Hartley Yorkshire Mysteries, Book 4

Duration 7h 37m

A gripping cosy mystery set in Durham, for fans of Faith Martin and Betty Rowlands. When librarian and budding Private Investigator Kitt Hartley visits her ex-assistant Grace Edwards in Durham, she soon learns of an unsolved murder.  A year ago, Jodie Perkins, a Mechanics student, disappeared after her student-radio broadcast was cut short w...

View Book
Alexis Tyler Series Book 2: The Nursery Cover

Alexis Tyler Series Book 2: The Nursery

Author: Asia Mackay

Alexis Tyler Series Book 2: The Nursery

Author Asia Mackay

Narrator Georgia Maguire

SeriesAlexis Tyler, Book 2

Duration 10h 42m

Lex Tyler is trying to have it all. But being a working mother is so much more difficult when you're a secret agent for an underground branch of the security services. Platform Eight have been tasked with tracking down and eliminating the traitor in MI6 who has been selling information to the highest bidder through a headhunting website for the cri...

View Book
A Body by the Lighthouse Cover

A Body by the Lighthouse

Author: Helen Cox

A Body by the Lighthouse

Author Helen Cox

Narrator Colleen Prendergast

SeriesThe Kitt Hartley Yorkshire Mysteries, Book 6

Duration 6h 49m

The latest Kitt Hartley mystery, perfect for fans of Betty Rowland and Faith Martin. Private Investigator Kitt Hartley and her twin sister, Rebecca, are preparing for a holiday in Scotland when cruise ship entertainer Errol Jackson appears at the door. Errol breaks the news that Bryce Griffin, a former smuggler and an old friend of Kitt's, has been...

View Book