Sign In Join Now
User Accessibility
  • Increase Font

  • Invert Colours

Search for a Book Browse Books Menu
Katherine of Aragon, The True Queen Cover Play Sample

Sample may contain unsuitable content.

Stream / Download

Audiobook streaming provided by:

OverDrive Logo

Share this book:

Katherine of Aragon, The True Queen

AuthorAlison Weir

NarratorMaggie Mash

SeriesSix Tudor Queens, Book 1

Duration27h 43m

CategoriesHistory, Adult Non-Fiction

PublisherHodder Headline

VersionUnabridged

  Save to Wish List
  Add to Favourites List

The lives of Henry VIII's queens make for dramatic stories, and Alison Weir writes a series of novels that offer insights into the real lives of the six wives based on extensive research and new theories.

In all the romancing, has anyone regarded the evidence that Anne Boleyn did not love Henry VIII? Or that Prince Arthur, Katherine of Aragon's first husband, who is said to have loved her, in fact cared so little for her that he willed his personal effects to his sister? Or that Henry VIII, an overprotected child and teenager, was prudish when it came to sex? That Jane Seymour, usually portrayed as Henry's one true love, had the makings of a matriarch? There is much to reveal....

Alison writes about the wives in the contexts of their own ages and of the court intrigues that surrounded these women and - without exception - wrecked their lives. She will transport listeners into a lost and vivid world of splendour and brutality: a world in which love, or the game of it, dominates all.

0 (0 Reviews)
0
0
0
0
0

Related Titles

Jane Seymour, The Haunted Queen Cover

Jane Seymour, The Haunted Queen

Author: Alison Weir

Jane Seymour, The Haunted Queen

Author Alison Weir

Narrator Rose Akroyd

SeriesSix Tudor Queens, Book 3

Duration 18h 29m

Alison Weir, historian and author of the Sunday Times best sellers Katherine of Aragon: The True Queen and Anne Boleyn: A King's Obsession, draws a finely detailed and enthralling portrait of Jane Seymour, Henry VIII's third queen. Essential listening for fans of Philippa Gregory and Elizabeth Chadwick.  The woman hau...

View Book
Anne Boleyn, A King's Obsession Cover

Anne Boleyn, A King's Obsession

Author: Alison Weir

Anne Boleyn, A King's Obsession

Author Alison Weir

Narrator Anna Bentick

SeriesSix Tudor Queens, Book 2

Duration 21h 15m

Anne Boleyn: A King's Obsession by best-selling historian Alison Weir, author of Katherine of Aragon: The True Queen, is the second captivating novel in the Six Tudor Queens series. An unforgettable portrait of the ambitious woman whose fate we know all too well, but whose true motivations may surprise you. Essential listening for fans of Philippa...

View Book
Katheryn Howard, The Tainted Queen Cover

Katheryn Howard, The Tainted Queen

Author: Alison Weir

Katheryn Howard, The Tainted Queen

Author Alison Weir

Narrator Sophie Roberts

SeriesSix Tudor Queens, Book 5

Duration 16h 6m

Alison Weir, historian and author of the Sunday Times best-selling Six Tudor Queens series, relates one of the most tragic stories in English history: Katheryn Howard, Henry VIII's fifth queen. A naive young woman at the mercy of her ambitious family. At just 19, Katheryn Howard is quick to trust and fall in love. She comes to court. She...

View Book
A Dangerous Inheritance Cover

A Dangerous Inheritance

Author: Alison Weir

A Dangerous Inheritance

Author Alison Weir

Narrator Maggie Mash

Duration 25h 51m

The year is 1562. Lady Catherine Grey, cousin of Elizabeth I, has just been arrested along with her husband Edward. Their crime is to have secretly married and produced a child who might threaten the Queen's title. Alone in her chamber at the Tower of London, Catherine hears ghostly voices; echoes, she thinks, of a crime committed in the same room...

View Book
Queens of the Crusades Cover

Queens of the Crusades

Author: Alison Weir

Queens of the Crusades

Author Alison Weir

Narrator Esther Wane

Duration 17h 43m

The Plantagenet queens of England played a role in some of the most dramatic events in our history. Crusading queens, queens in rebellion against their king, queen seductresses, learned queens, queens in battle, queens who enlivened England with the romantic culture of southern Europe – these determined women often broke through medieval cons...

View Book
Katharine Parr, The Sixth Wife Cover

Katharine Parr, The Sixth Wife

Author: Alison Weir

Katharine Parr, The Sixth Wife

Author Alison Weir

Narrator Beth Eyre

SeriesSix Tudor Queens, Book 6

Duration 19h 17m

Alison Weir, historian and author of the Sunday Times best-selling Six Tudor Queens series, recounts the story of Henry VIII's last wife - Katharine Parr, the queen who survived him. A woman torn between love and duty. Two husbands dead, a boy and a sick man. And now Katharine is free to make her own choice. The ageing king's eye falls...

View Book
Anna of Kleve, Queen of Secrets Cover

Anna of Kleve, Queen of Secrets

Author: Alison Weir

Anna of Kleve, Queen of Secrets

Author Alison Weir

Narrator Esther Wane

SeriesSix Tudor Queens, Book 4

Duration 18h 32m

Alison Weir, historian and author of the Sunday Times best sellers Katherine of Aragon: The True Queen, Anne Boleyn: A King's Obsession and Jane Seymour: The Haunted Queen, paints a spellbinding portrait of Anna of Kleve, Henry VIII's fourth queen.   A German Princess with a guilty secret. The King is in love wi...

View Book
The Captive Queen Cover

The Captive Queen

Author: Alison Weir

The Captive Queen

Author Alison Weir

Narrator Julia Franklin

Duration 19h 13m

France, 1152. A beautiful woman is escaping through France, leaving behind two young daughters and a shattered marriage. This woman is Eleanor, Duchess of Aquitaine, and her sole purpose is to marry the man she loves, Henry Plantagenet, a man destined for greatness as King of England. Theirs is a union founded on lust which will create a great empi...

View Book
Lancaster and York: The Wars of the Roses Cover

Lancaster and York: The Wars of the Roses

Author: Alison Weir

Lancaster and York: The Wars of the Roses

Author Alison Weir

Narrator Maggie Mash

Duration 22h 25m

A riveting account of the Wars of the Roses, from the beloved and bestselling historian Alison Weir The war between the houses of Lancaster and York was characterised by treachery, deceit and bloody battles. Alison Weir's lucid and gripping account focuses on the human side of history. At the centre of the book stands Henry VI, the pious king whose...

View Book
Elizabeth of York Cover

Elizabeth of York

Author: Alison Weir

Elizabeth of York

Author Alison Weir

Narrator Maggie Mash

Duration 23h 5m

Acclaimed historian Alison Weir looks into the life of the first Tudor queen, revealing the woman behind the image Elizabeth of York would have ruled England, but for the fact that she was a woman. One of the key figures of the Wars of the Roses, daughter of Edward IV and Elizabeth Woodville, she married Henry Tudor to bring peace to a war-torn Eng...

View Book