Sign In Join Now
User Accessibility
  • Increase Font

  • Invert Colours

Search for a Book Browse Books Menu
Stream / Download Request CD

Audiobook streaming provided by:

OverDrive Logo

Share this book:

Making the Cat Laugh

AuthorLynne Truss

NarratorLynn Fairleigh

Duration8h

CategoriesAdult Fiction, Humour and Comedy

PublisherInhouse

VersionUnabridged

  Save to Wish List
  Add to Favourites List

A pre-Bridget Jones collection of comic journalism in the form of a guide to the life of a cat-owning modern single woman in her 30s. Truss struggles with procrastination, single bananas, unclear cooking instructions and the ungrateful (and occasionally homicidal) nature of cats.

0 (0 Reviews)
0
0
0
0
0

Related Titles

The Queen and I Cover

The Queen and I

Author: Sue Townsend

The Queen and I

Author Sue Townsend

Narrator Angela Thorne

Duration 7h 24m

When a Republican party wins the General Election, they strip the royal family of everything and send them to live on a housing estate in the Midlands. Exchanging caviar for boiled eggs, servants for a social worker named Trish, the Queen and her family learn what it means to be poor among the great unwashed. Is their breeding sufficient to allow t...

View Book
Constable Twitten Book 1: A Shot in the Dark Cover

Constable Twitten Book 1: A Shot in the Dark

Author: Lynne Truss

Constable Twitten Book 1: A Shot in the Dark

Author Lynne Truss

Narrator Matt Green

Duration 7h 40m

After the notorious 'Middle Street Massacre' of 1951, when the majority of Brighton's criminals wiped one another out in a vicious battle as the local police force enjoyed a brief stop en route for an ice cream, Inspector Steine rather enjoys life as a policeman. So it's really rather annoying when an ambitious - not to mention irritating - new Con...

View Book
The Vinyl Detective Mysteries Book 2: The Run Out Groove Cover

The Vinyl Detective Mysteries Book 2: The Run Out Groove

Author: Andrew Cartmel

The Vinyl Detective Mysteries Book 2: The Run Out Groove

Author Andrew Cartmel

Narrator Finlay Robertson

SeriesThe Vinyl Detective Mysteries, Book 2

Duration 10h 7m

When a mint copy of the final album by Valerian - England's great lost rock band of the 1960s, surfaces, all hell breaks loose. Finding this record triggers a chain of events culminating in our hero learning the true fate of the singer Valerian, who died under equivocal circumstances just after... or was it just before the abduction of her two-year...

View Book
Stiff Upper Lip, Jeeves Cover

Stiff Upper Lip, Jeeves

Author: P.G. Wodehouse

Stiff Upper Lip, Jeeves

Author P.G. Wodehouse

Narrator Various

Duration 2h 28m

Bertie Wooster looks pretty stylish in his new Tyrolean hat - or so he thinks: others, notably Jeeves, disagree. But when Bertie embarks on an errand of mercy to Totleigh Towers, things get quickly out of control and he's going to need all the help Jeeves can provide. There are good eggs present, such as Gussie Fink-Nottle and the Rev. 'Stinker' Pi...

View Book
Adrian Mole: The Wilderness Years Cover

Adrian Mole: The Wilderness Years

Author: Sue Townsend

Adrian Mole: The Wilderness Years

Author Sue Townsend

Narrator Nicholas Barnes

Duration 5h 38m

Finally given the heave-ho by Pandora, Adrian Mole finds himself in the situation of living with the love-of-his-life as she goes about shacking up with other men. Worse, as he slides down the employment ladder, from deskbound civil servant in Oxford to part-time washer-upper in Soho, he finds that critical reception for his epic novel, Lo! The Fla...

View Book
First Among Sequels Cover

First Among Sequels

Author: Jasper Fforde

First Among Sequels

Author Jasper Fforde

Narrator Emily Gray

Duration 12h 31m

Fourteen years after her last adventure, Thursday Next, literary detective, finds herself in an unusual situation her job policing the fictional characters of the BookWorld has been downgraded since her previous escapades are now themselves in print. However, a pressing threat may call her back into action: first Sherlock Holmes and then Miss Marpl...

View Book
Nursery Crime Series Book 2: The Fourth Bear Cover

Nursery Crime Series Book 2: The Fourth Bear

Author: Jasper Fforde

Nursery Crime Series Book 2: The Fourth Bear

Author Jasper Fforde

Narrator Luke Thompson

SeriesNursery Crime, Book 2

Duration 11h 5m

The Gingerbreadman: Psychopath, murderer, and biscuit is loose in the streets of Reading. He and Mary Mary have been reassigned due to falling levels of nursery crime. That is, until a chance encounter during the Armitage Shanks literary awards at the oddly familiar Deja-Vu Club lead Jack and Mary on the hunt for missing journalist Henrietta 'Goldi...

View Book
The Adventures of Inspector Steine Cover

The Adventures of Inspector Steine

Author: Lynne Truss

The Adventures of Inspector Steine

Author Lynne Truss

Narrator Full Cast

Duration 2h 46m

Constable Twitten takes over the narrative in this third series of Lynne Truss's seaside comedy about celebrity policeman Inspector Steine. Back from an attachment at Scotland Yard, Twitten finds Brunswick more depressed than ever about villainy in Brighton. To cheer him up, Twitten persuades Brunswick's favourite writer Harry Jupiter, crime report...

View Book
A Certain Age Cover

A Certain Age

Author: Lynne Truss

A Certain Age

Author Lynne Truss

Narrator Various

Duration 5h 33m

In the tradition of Alan Bennett's 'Talking Heads', Lynne Truss' twelve monologues are about love, romance, friendship and family. Here are six men and six women, each with a very different story to tell, ranging from the wife who feels better when her husband disappears to the pedant who undergoes a TV makeover and the Olympic swimmer who can't es...

View Book
Nursery Crimes Series Book 1: The Big Over Easy Cover

Nursery Crimes Series Book 1: The Big Over Easy

Author: Jasper Fforde

Nursery Crimes Series Book 1: The Big Over Easy

Author Jasper Fforde

Narrator Luke Thompson

SeriesNursery Crime, Book 1

Duration 11h 6m

It's Easter in Reading - a bad time for eggs - and no one can remember the last sunny day. Humpty Dumpty, well-known nursery favourite, large egg, ex-convict and former millionaire philanthropist, is found shattered beneath a wall in a shabby area of town. Following the pathologist's careful reconstruction of Humpty's shell, Detective Inspector Jac...

View Book