Sign In Join Now
User Accessibility
  • Increase Font

  • Invert Colours

Search for a Book Browse Books Menu
Noughts and Crosses Series Book 1: Noughts and Crosses Cover Play Sample

Sample may contain unsuitable content.

Stream / Download

Audiobook streaming provided by:

OverDrive Logo

Share this book:

Noughts and Crosses Series Book 1: Noughts and Crosses

AuthorMalorie Blackman

NarratorSyan Blake, Paul Chequer

SeriesNoughts and Crosses, Book 1

Duration10h 39m

CategoriesYoung Adult and Teen Fiction

Key StageKS3

PublisherRandom House Audio Go

VersionUnabridged

  Save to Wish List
  Add to Favourites List

Sephy is a Cross, a member of the dark-skinned ruling class. Callum is a nought, a 'colourless' member of the underclass who were once slaves to the Crosses. The two have been friends since early childhood. But that's as far as it can go. Until the first steps are taken towards more social equality and a limited number of Noughts are allowed into Cross schools. Against a background of prejudice and distrust, intensely highlighted by violent terrorist activity by Noughts, a romance builds between Sephy and Callum, a romance that is to lead both of them into terrible danger.

0 (0 Reviews)
0
0
0
0
0

Related Titles

Noughts and Crosses Book 6: Endgame Cover

Noughts and Crosses Book 6: Endgame

Author: Malorie Blackman

Noughts and Crosses Book 6: Endgame

Author Malorie Blackman

Narrator Josh Dylan, Vivienne Acheampong, Rebecca Lee, David John, Masali Baduza, Nathan Stewart-Jarrett, Simon Darwen

SeriesNoughts and Crosses, Book 6

Duration 12h 3m

Brought to you by Penguin. It is 20 years in 2021 since Malorie Blackman's groundbreaking series began with Noughts & Crosses, which charted the deeply forbidden romance between Sephy (a Cross) and Callum (a nought) - a love affair which had repercussions for their families for generations.Endgame, the breathtaking conclusion to the series, inf...

View Book
The Stuff of Nightmares Cover

The Stuff of Nightmares

Author: Malorie Blackman

The Stuff of Nightmares

Author Malorie Blackman

Narrator Joe Jameson

Duration 9h 45m

Kyle has always been afraid of things, especially dying. But when he gets on the train that is taking him and his class on a school trip, he has no idea how close to Death he is going to come. Death enters the train and Kyle moves with him, past his friends, who are frozen in time, in life-or-death situations. Kyle finds that he can pick up on thei...

View Book
Noughts and Crosses Book 4: Double Cross Cover

Noughts and Crosses Book 4: Double Cross

Author: Malorie Blackman

Noughts and Crosses Book 4: Double Cross

Author Malorie Blackman

Narrator Joan Walker, Nicole Davis, Nigel Pilkington

SeriesNoughts and Crosses, Book 4

Duration 6h 11m

Random House presents the audiobook edition of Double Cross by Malorie Blackman. Just this once. Just this once and no more, I promise.Please let me get away with it just this once . . .Tobey wants a better life - for him and for Callie Rose. He wants nothing to do with the violent gangs that rule the world he lives in. But when he's offered the ch...

View Book
Noble Conflict Cover

Noble Conflict

Author: Malorie Blackman

Noble Conflict

Author Malorie Blackman

Narrator Jack Hawkins

Duration 7h 36m

Years after a violent war destroyed much of the world, Kaspar has grown up in a society based on peace and harmony. But beyond the city walls, a vicious band of rebels are plotting to tear this peace apart. It is up to the Guardians - an elite peacekeeping force - to protect the city, without ever resorting to the brutal methods of their enemy. Whe...

View Book
Noughts and Crosses Book 2: Knife Edge Cover

Noughts and Crosses Book 2: Knife Edge

Author: Malorie Blackman

Noughts and Crosses Book 2: Knife Edge

Author Malorie Blackman

Narrator Joan Walker, John Hasler, Nina Sosanya

SeriesNoughts and Crosses, Book 2

Duration 5h 10m

Random House presents the audiobook edition of Knife Edge by Malorie Blackman. No one could begin to guess at the depth of the hatred I held for Sephy Hadley. Everything began with her and my brother. And that's how it would end.Where there has been love, now there is hate. Two families have been shattered by the divided and violent society they li...

View Book
Dangerous Reality Cover

Dangerous Reality

Author: Malorie Blackman

Dangerous Reality

Author Malorie Blackman

Narrator Felix Dexter

Duration 3h 45m

VIMS - the Virtual Interactive Mobile System - is the creation of Dominic's scientist mum. And it's amazing. An artificial intelligence masterpiece controlled by a single glove and a special pair of glasses, it can disarm a car bomb, search through underground pipes - even hold a baby. But when VIMS attacks violently and without warning, Dominic re...

View Book
Dead Gorgeous Cover

Dead Gorgeous

Author: Malorie Blackman

Dead Gorgeous

Author Malorie Blackman

Narrator Nina Sosanya

Duration 5h

Life is tough for Nova. Her frantic parents are obsessed by running their hotel and her older sister seems too grown-up and good-looking to spend time with her any more. Then Nova meets the gorgeous Liam and things start to look up. But Liam is having an even worse time than she is. He's permanently stuck at the hotel and he can't attract his broth...

View Book
A.n.t.i.d.o.t.e. Cover

A.n.t.i.d.o.t.e.

Author: Malorie Blackman

A.n.t.i.d.o.t.e.

Author Malorie Blackman

Narrator Roger Griffiths

Duration 4h 50m

It's a normal Friday evening for Elliot - until the police knock on the door and tell him his mum's in serious trouble! A security video clearly shows her breaking into a giant pharmaceutical company on behalf of the environmental action group A.N.T.I.D.O.T.E. Elliot can hardly believe it. His mum's a secretary, isn't she? Not a SPY!

View Book
Chasing the Stars Cover

Chasing the Stars

Author: Malorie Blackman

Chasing the Stars

Author Malorie Blackman

Narrator Georgina Campbell

Duration 11h 49m

Olivia and her twin brother Aidan are heading alone back to Earth following the virus that wiped out the rest of their crew, and their family, in its entirety. Nathan is part of a community heading in the opposite direction. But on their journey, Nathan's ship is attacked and most of the community killed. Only a few survive. Their lives unexpec...

View Book
Noughts and Crosses Series Book 5: Crossfire Cover

Noughts and Crosses Series Book 5: Crossfire

Author: Malorie Blackman

Noughts and Crosses Series Book 5: Crossfire

Author Malorie Blackman

Narrator Vivienne Acheampong, Rebecca Lee, Josh Dylan, Nathan Stewart-Jarrett

SeriesNoughts and Crosses, Book 5

Duration 8h 55m

Brought to you by Penguin. Crossfire is the long-awaited new novel in legendary author Malorie Blackman's ground-breaking Noughts & Crosses series - perfect for fans of The Handmaid's Tale and The Power.Thirty-four years have passed since Sephy Hadley - a Cross - first met Callum McGregor - a nought. Their love was forbidden, powerful - and dea...

View Book