Sign In Join Now
User Accessibility
  • Increase Font

  • Invert Colours

Search for a Book Browse Books Menu
Stream / Download

Audiobook streaming provided by:

OverDrive Logo

Share this book:

The Women of Primrose Square

AuthorClaudia Carroll

NarratorAoife Mcmahon

Duration10h 22m

CategoriesAdult Fiction, Novels

PublisherBonnier

VersionUnabridged

  Save to Wish List
  Add to Favourites List

The new novel from bestselling author Claudia Carroll, perfect for fans of Emma Hannigan and Marianne Keyes.
Frank Woods at number seventy-nine Primrose Square is about to turn fifty, and nobody seems to care. His friends are all busy; his wife and children have other plans. After years of being 'Mr Cellophane', he decides, finally, to do something for himself. But when he gets home to a surprise birthday party, it is his guests who get the real surprise.
Standing in the doorway is not Frank, but Francesca.
As she transitions, Francesca struggles to come to terms with her true self, and her relationship with her family is thrown into turmoil. At a loss of where to turn, she moves in with her cantankerous neighbour Miss Hardcastle, who hasn't left her home for decades. There she befriends fellow lodger Emily Dunne - fresh out of rehab, finally off the drink and desperate to make amends.
As gossip spreads through Primrose Square and every relationship is tested, nothing in this close-knit community will ever be the same again . . .

0 (0 Reviews)
0
0
0
0
0

Related Titles

Summer At the Comfort Food Cafe Cover

Summer At the Comfort Food Cafe

Author: Debbie Johnson

Summer At the Comfort Food Cafe

Author Debbie Johnson

Narrator Dawn Murphy

Duration 9h 50m

The Comfort Food Cafe is perched on a windswept clifftop at what feels like the edge of the world, serving up the most delicious cream teas, beautifully baked breads and carefully crafted cupcakes. For tourists and locals alike, the ramshackle cafe overlooking the beach is a beacon of laughter, companionship and security - a place like no other, a...

View Book
A Very Accidental Love Story Cover

A Very Accidental Love Story

Author: Claudia Carroll

A Very Accidental Love Story

Author Claudia Carroll

Narrator Claudia Carroll

Duration 11h 18m

Eloise Elliot is one of the youngest newspaper editors in the country. But, on the eve of her 30th birthday, Eloise is hit buy a long sharp pang of loneliness. Suddenly she realises what she wants is a baby. One successful trip to the sperm bank and she is the adoring mother of a gorgeous little girl, Lily. Yet when Lily starts asking about her 'da...

View Book
The Secrets of Primrose Square Cover

The Secrets of Primrose Square

Author: Claudia Carroll

The Secrets of Primrose Square

Author Claudia Carroll

Narrator Aoife Mcmahon

Duration 10h 22m

There are so many stories hidden behind closed doors . . .It's late at night and the rain is pouring down on the Dublin city streets. A mother is grieving for her dead child. She stands silently outside the home of the teenage boy she believes responsible. She watches . . .In a kitchen on the same square, a girl waits anxiously for her mum to come...

View Book
Postscript Cover

Postscript

Author: Cecelia Ahern

Postscript

Author Cecelia Ahern

Narrator Amy Huberman

Duration 9h 52m

When Holly Kennedy is approached by a group calling themselves the PS, I Love You Club, her safe existence is turned on its head. Inspired by hearing about her late husband Gerry's letters, the club wants Holly to help them with their own parting messages for their loved ones to discover after they're gone. Holly is sure of one thing: no way is she...

View Book
So Lucky Cover

So Lucky

Author: Dawn O'Porter

So Lucky

Author Dawn O'Porter

Narrator Dawn O'Porter

Duration 9h 19m

Is anyone's life.... Beth shows that women really can have it all. Ruby lives life by her own rules. And then there's Lauren, living the dream. As perfect as it looks? Beth hasn't had sex in a year. Ruby feels like she's failing. Lauren's happiness is fake news. And it just takes one shocking event to make the truth come tumbling out...

View Book
Real Life Cover

Real Life

Author: Brandon Taylor

Real Life

Author Brandon Taylor

Narrator Kevin R. Free

Duration 9h 25m

Almost everything about Wallace is at odds with the Midwestern university town where he is working uneasily toward a biochem degree. An introverted young man from Alabama, black and queer, he has left behind his family without escaping the long shadows of his childhood. For reasons of self-preservation, Wallace has enforced a wary distance even wit...

View Book
Rodham Cover

Rodham

Author: Curtis Sittenfield

Rodham

Author Curtis Sittenfield

Narrator Carrington Macduffie

Duration 13h 58m

'Awfully opinionated for a girl' is what they call Hillary as she grows up in her Chicago suburb. Smart, diligent, and a bit plain, that's the general consensus. Then Hillary goes to college, and her star rises. At Yale Law School, she continues to be a leader- and catches the eye of driven, handsome and charismatic Bill. But when he asks her to ma...

View Book
Queen Bee Cover

Queen Bee

Author: Jane Fallon

Queen Bee

Author Jane Fallon

Narrator Jo Joyner

Duration 10h 8m

Brought to you by Penguin. Welcome to The Close - a beautiful street of mansions, where gorgeous Stella is the indisputable Queen Bee . . . It is here that Laura, seeking peace and privacy after her marriage falls apart, rents a tiny studio. Unfortunately, her arrival upsets suspicious Stella - who fears Laura has designs on her fianc‚, Al. W...

View Book
Everything I Never Told You Cover

Everything I Never Told You

Author: Celeste Ng

Everything I Never Told You

Author Celeste Ng

Narrator Cassandra Campbell

Duration 10h 8m

Lydia is the favourite child of Marilyn and James Lee; a girl who inherited her mother's bright blue eyes and her father's jet-black hair. When Lydia's body is found in the local lake, James is consumed by guilt, and Marilyn, devastated and vengeful, is determined to hold someone accountable. But it's the youngest in the family - Hannah - who may b...

View Book
Shuggie Bain Cover

Shuggie Bain

Author: Douglas Stuart

Shuggie Bain

Author Douglas Stuart

Narrator Angus King

Duration 17h 41m

This is the unforgettable story of young Hugh "Shuggie" Bain, a sweet and lonely boy who spends his 1980s childhood in run-down public housing in Glasgow, Scotland. Thatcher's policies have put husbands and sons out of work, and the city's notorious drugs epidemic is waiting in the wings. Shuggie's mother Agnes walks a wayward path: she is Shuggie'...

View Book