Sign In Join Now
User Accessibility
  • Increase Font

  • Invert Colours

Search for a Book Browse Books Menu
When We Were Birds Cover Play Sample

Sample may contain unsuitable content.

Stream / Download

Audiobook streaming provided by:

OverDrive Logo

Share this book:

When We Were Birds

AuthorAyanna Lloyd Banwo

NarratorSydney Darius, Wendell Manwarren

Duration8h 41m

CategoriesAdult Fiction, Science Fiction and Fantasy

PublisherPenguin Books Ltd

VersionUnabridged

  Save to Wish List
  Add to Favourites List

Brought to you by Penguin.
Mesmerising, mythic and timeless - the most unmissable debut novel of 2022 - for fans of Arundhati Roy, Toni Morrison and Monique Roffey

Darwin is a down-on-his-luck gravedigger, newly arrived in the Trinidadian city of Port Angeles to seek his fortune, young and beautiful and lost. Estranged from his mother and the Rastafari faith she taught him, he is convinced that the father he never met may be waiting for him somewhere amid these bustling streets.
Meanwhile in an old house on a hill, where the city meets the rainforest, Yejide's mother is dying. And she is leaving behind a legacy that now passes to Yejide: the power to talk to the dead. The women of Yejide's family are human but also not - descended from corbeau, the black birds that fly east at sunset, taking with them the souls of the dead.
Darwin and Yejide both have something that the other needs. Their destinies are intertwined, and they will find one another in the sprawling, ancient cemetery at the heart of the island, where trouble is brewing...
Rich with magic and wisdom, When We Were Birds is an exuberant, incantatory masterpiece that conjures and mesmerises on every line. Ayanna Lloyd Banwo weaves an unforgettable story of loss and renewal, darkness and light; a triumphant reckoning with a grief that runs back generations and a defiant, joyful affirmation of hope.
© Ayanna Lloyd Banwo 2022 (P) Penguin Audio 2022

0 (0 Reviews)
0
0
0
0
0

Related Titles

Rivers of London Book 8: False Value Cover

Rivers of London Book 8: False Value

Author: Ben Aaronovitch

Rivers of London Book 8: False Value

Author Ben Aaronovitch

Narrator Kobna Holdbrook-Smith

SeriesRivers of London, Book 8

Duration 11h 11m

Peter Grant is facing fatherhood and an uncertain future with equal amounts of panic and enthusiasm. Rather than sit around, he takes a job with ‚migr‚ Silicon Valley tech genius Terrence Skinner's brand-new London start-up - the Serious Cybernetics Company. Drawn into the orbit of Old Street's famous 'silicon roundabout', Peter must le...

View Book
Howl's Moving Castle Cover

Howl's Moving Castle

Author: Diana Wynne Jones

Howl's Moving Castle

Author Diana Wynne Jones

Narrator Kristin Atherton

Duration 8h 57m

In the land of Ingary, where seven league boots and invisibility cloaks exist, young Sophie Hatter catches the unwelcome attention of the Witch of the Waste and is put under a spell....Deciding she has nothing more to lose, Sophie makes her way to the moving castle that hovers on the hills above her town, Market Chipping. But the castle belongs to...

View Book
A Scanner Darkly Cover

A Scanner Darkly

Author: Philip K. Dick

A Scanner Darkly

Author Philip K. Dick

Narrator Paul Giamatti

Duration 9h 15m

Substance D - otherwise known as Death - is the most dangerous drug ever to find its way on to the black market. It destroys the links between the brain's two hemispheres, leading first to disorentation and then to complete and irreversible brain damage. Bob Arctor, undercover narcotics agent, is trying to find a lead to the source of supply, but t...

View Book
Night Rebel Book 1: Shades of the Wicked Cover

Night Rebel Book 1: Shades of the Wicked

Author: Jeaniene Frost

Night Rebel Book 1: Shades of the Wicked

Author Jeaniene Frost

Narrator Tavia Gilbert

SeriesNight Rebel, Book 1

Duration 8h 51m

In this thrilling new Night Rebel series set in New York Times bestselling author Jeaniene Frost's Night Huntress world, sexy and ruthless vampire Ian finally meets his match! The Rule Breaker...Master vampire Ian is unrepentant, shameless...and every shade of wicked. He's made one too many enemies in his two centuries of existence, including Dagon...

View Book
Night Rebel Book 2: Wicked Bite Cover

Night Rebel Book 2: Wicked Bite

Author: Jeaniene Frost

Night Rebel Book 2: Wicked Bite

Author Jeaniene Frost

Narrator Tavia Gilbert

SeriesNight Rebel, Book 2

Duration 9h

In the newest Night Rebel novel, set in New York Times bestselling author Jeaniene Frost's Night Huntress world, beautiful, daring vampire Veritas risks all to protect Ian... Some promises are meant to be broken... Veritas spent most of her life as a vampire Law Guardian. Now, she's about to break every rule by secretly hunting down the dark souls...

View Book
The Witcher Book 1: Blood of Elves Cover

The Witcher Book 1: Blood of Elves

Author: Andrzej Sapkowski

The Witcher Book 1: Blood of Elves

Author Andrzej Sapkowski

Narrator Peter Kenny

SeriesThe Witcher, Book 1

Duration 10h 54m

For more than a hundred years humans, dwarves, gnomes and elves lived together in relative peace. But times have changed, the uneasy peace is over and now the races once again fight each other. Into this tumultuous time is born a child for whom the witchers of the world have been waiting. Ciri, the granddaughter of Queen Calanthe, the Lioness of Ci...

View Book
The Witcher Book 3: Baptism of Fire Cover

The Witcher Book 3: Baptism of Fire

Author: Andrzej Sapkowski

The Witcher Book 3: Baptism of Fire

Author Andrzej Sapkowski

Narrator Peter Kenny

SeriesThe Witcher, Book 3

Duration 11h 58m

The Wizards Guild has been shattered by a coup and, in the uproar, Geralt was seriously injured. The Witcher is supposed to be a guardian of the innocent, a protector of those in need, a defender against powerful and dangerous monsters that prey on men in dark times. But now that dark times have fallen upon the world, Geralt is helpless until he ha...

View Book
The Witcher: Sword of Destiny Cover

The Witcher: Sword of Destiny

Author: Andrzej Sapkowski

The Witcher: Sword of Destiny

Author Andrzej Sapkowski

Narrator Peter Kenny

Duration 12h 53m

Geralt is a witcher, a man whose magic powers, enhanced by long training and a mysterious elixir, have made him a brilliant fighter and a merciless assassin. Yet he is no ordinary murderer: his targets are the multifarious monsters and vile fiends that ravage the land and attack the innocent. He roams the country seeking assignments, but gradually...

View Book
The Witcher Book 6: Seasons of Storms Cover

The Witcher Book 6: Seasons of Storms

Author: Andrzej Sapkowski

The Witcher Book 6: Seasons of Storms

Author Andrzej Sapkowski

Narrator Peter Kenny

SeriesThe Witcher, Book 6

Duration 11h 45m

Geralt. The witcher whose mission is to protect ordinary people from the monsters created with magic. A mutant who has the task of killing unnatural beings. He uses a magical sign, potions and the pride of every witcher - two swords, steel and silver. But what would happen if Geralt lost his weapons? Andrzej Sapkowski returns to his most popular he...

View Book
The Choice Cover

The Choice

Author: Claire Wade

The Choice

Author Claire Wade

Narrator Emma Gregory

Duration 11h 55m

Imagine a world where.... Everything you ate was monitored by the government. Every step you took was counted. Your children were weighed every day at school. Neighbours reported on neighbours and no one was safe from judgement. Sugar was illegal, and baking was a crime. Imagine if that world was here.... What would you do? Toe the line or fight fo...

View Book