Sign In Join Now
User Accessibility
  • Increase Font

  • Invert Colours

Search for a Book Browse Books Menu
Stream / Download Request CD

Audiobook streaming provided by:

OverDrive Logo

Share this book:

Who Are Refugees and Migrants? What Makes People Leave Their Homes? and Other Big Questions

AuthorMichael Rosen, Annemarie Young

NarratorThe Authors

Duration1h 33m

CategoriesChildren and Young Adult Non-Fiction and Educational Titles, PSHE

Key StageKS2

PublisherInhouse

VersionUnabridged

  Save to Wish List
  Add to Favourites List

What does it mean for people to have to leave their homes, and what happens when they seek entry to another country? This book explores the history of refugees and migration around the world and the effects on people of never-ending war and conflict. It compares the effects on society of diversity and interculturalism with historical attempts to create a racially 'pure' culture. It takes an international perspective, and offers a range of views from people who have personal experience of migration, including the campaigners Meltem Avcil and Muzoon Almellehan, the comedian and actor Omid Djalili and the poet Benjamin Zephaniah. Aimed at young people aged 10 and upwards, the book encourages readers to think for themselves about the issues involved. There is also a role-play activity asking readers to imagine themselves in the situation of having to decide whether to leave their homes and seek refuge in a new country.

0 (0 Reviews)
0
0
0
0
0

Related Titles

You're Thinking About Tomatoes Cover

You're Thinking About Tomatoes

Author: Michael Rosen

You're Thinking About Tomatoes

Author Michael Rosen

Narrator Michael Rosen

Duration 2h 24m

Frank is among the ruins of the past on a school trip to a stately home. When the servant in an eighteenth century picture starts talking to Frank, he really isn't surprised. The girl is Sheba but is sure that isn't her real name and calls herself 'Not-Sheba'. Frank agrees to help her find out who she is, helped on the way by a celebrity mad mummy,...

View Book
Michael Rosen's A To Z: The Best Children's Poetry From Agard To Zephaniah Cover

Michael Rosen's A To Z: The Best Children's Poetry From Agard To Zephaniah

Author: Michael Rosen

Michael Rosen's A To Z: The Best Children's Poetry From Agard To Zephaniah

Author Michael Rosen

Narrator Stephanie Beattie

Duration 2h 26m

From Agard to Zephaniah, this wonderful anthology is rich with the many cultures, voices and sounds of the most exciting children's performance poets in Britain today. Whether it's haunting or funny, musical or compassionate, the brilliant Michael Rosen, our Children's Laureate, has created a simply stunning collection of the best of children's poe...

View Book
The Missing Cover

The Missing

Author: Michael Rosen

The Missing

Author Michael Rosen

Narrator The Author

Duration 1h 25m

A personal, powerful and resonant account of the Holocaust by one of this country's best-loved children's authors. By turns charming, shocking and heart-breaking, this is the true story of Michael Rosen's search for his relatives who "went missing" during the Second World War – told through prose, poetry, maps and pictures. When Michael was g...

View Book
You Too? Cover

You Too?

Author: Janet Gurtler

You Too?

Author Janet Gurtler

Narrator Allyson Ryan

Duration 7h 15m

A timely and heartfelt collection of essays inspired by the #MeToo movement, edited by acclaimed young adult and middle-grade author Janet Gurtler. Featuring Beth Revis, Mackenzi Lee, Ellen Hopkins, Saundra Mitchell, Jennifer Brown, Cheryl Rainfield, and many more. When #MeToo went viral, Janet Gurtler was among the millions of people who began to...

View Book
Mustard, Custard, Grumble Belly and Gravy Cover

Mustard, Custard, Grumble Belly and Gravy

Author: Michael Rosen

Mustard, Custard, Grumble Belly and Gravy

Author Michael Rosen

Narrator Michael Rosen

Duration 30m

A collection of poems by the much loved children's poet Michael Rosen. Including the two books 'You Can't Catch Me' and 'Don't Put Mustard in the Custard'.

View Book
It's Not Ok To Feel Blue (and Other Lies) Cover

It's Not Ok To Feel Blue (and Other Lies)

Author: Scarlett Curtis

It's Not Ok To Feel Blue (and Other Lies)

Author Scarlett Curtis

Narrator Various

Duration 9h 24m

Everyone has a mental health. So we asked: What does yours mean to you? THE RESULT IS EXTRAORDINARY. Over 60 people have shared their stories. Powerful, funny, moving, this book is here to tell you: It's OK. With writing and audio from a collection of collaborators including: Adam Kay - Alastair Campbell - Alexis Caught - Ben Platt - Bryony Gordon...

View Book
You Are Enough Cover

You Are Enough

Author: Jen Petro-Roy

You Are Enough

Author Jen Petro-Roy

Narrator Suzie Althens

Duration 6h 2m

This nonfiction self-help book for young listeners with disordered eating and body-image problems delivers real talk about eating disorders and body image, tools and information for recovery, and suggestions for dealing with the media messages that contribute so much to disordered eating. You Are Enough answers questions like these: What are eating...

View Book
I Don't Want To Be Crazy Cover

I Don't Want To Be Crazy

Author: Samantha Schutz

I Don't Want To Be Crazy

Author Samantha Schutz

Narrator Samantha Schutz

Duration 3h 42m

A harrowing, remarkable poetry memoir about one girl's struggle with anxiety disorder. This is a true story of growing up, breaking down, and coming to grips with a psychological disorder. When Samantha Schutz first left home for college, she was excited by the possibilities-freedom from parents, freedom from a boyfriend who was reckless with her a...

View Book
Almost Adulting Cover

Almost Adulting

Author: Arden Rose

Almost Adulting

Author Arden Rose

Narrator Arden Rose

Duration 3h 4m

For fans of Grace Helbig and Alexa Chung comes a fresh, hilarious guide to growing up your way from social media influencer and lifestyle vlogger Arden Rose. In Almost Adulting-perfect for budding adults, failing adults, and eaters of microwave mug brownies-Arden tells you how to survive your future adulthood. Topics include: Making internet friend...

View Book
Period Power Cover

Period Power

Author: Nadya Okamoto

Period Power

Author Nadya Okamoto

Narrator Nadya Okamoto

Duration 5h 26m

PERIOD founder and Harvard College student Nadya Okamoto offers a manifesto on menstruation and why we can no longer silence those who bleed-and how to engage in youth activism. Throughout history, periods have been hidden from the public. They're taboo. They're embarrassing. They're gross. And due to a crumbling or nonexistent national sex ed prog...

View Book