Sign In Join Now
User Accessibility
  • Increase Font

  • Invert Colours

Search for a Book Browse Books Menu
Stream / Download Request CD

Audiobook streaming provided by:

OverDrive Logo

Share this book:

Who Are Refugees and Migrants? What Makes People Leave Their Homes? and Other Big Questions

AuthorMichael Rosen, Annemarie Young

NarratorThe Authors

Duration1h 33m

CategoriesChildren and Young Adult Non-Fiction and Educational Titles, PSHE

Key StageKS2

PublisherInhouse

VersionUnabridged

  Save to Wish List
  Add to Favourites List

What does it mean for people to have to leave their homes, and what happens when they seek entry to another country? This book explores the history of refugees and migration around the world and the effects on people of never-ending war and conflict. It compares the effects on society of diversity and interculturalism with historical attempts to create a racially 'pure' culture. It takes an international perspective, and offers a range of views from people who have personal experience of migration, including the campaigners Meltem Avcil and Muzoon Almellehan, the comedian and actor Omid Djalili and the poet Benjamin Zephaniah. Aimed at young people aged 10 and upwards, the book encourages readers to think for themselves about the issues involved. There is also a role-play activity asking readers to imagine themselves in the situation of having to decide whether to leave their homes and seek refuge in a new country.

0 (0 Reviews)
0
0
0
0
0

Related Titles

I Have the Right To Cover

I Have the Right To

Author: Chessy Prout

I Have the Right To

Author Chessy Prout

Narrator Chessy Prout

Duration 11h 5m

A young survivor tells her searing, visceral story of sexual assault, justice, and healing in this gutwrenching memoir. The numbers are staggering: nearly one in five girls ages fourteen to seventeen have been the victim of a sexual assault or attempted sexual assault. This is the true story of one of those girls. In 2014, Chessy Prout was a freshm...

View Book
The Missing Cover

The Missing

Author: Michael Rosen

The Missing

Author Michael Rosen

Narrator The Author

Duration 1h 25m

A personal, powerful and resonant account of the Holocaust by one of this country's best-loved children's authors. By turns charming, shocking and heart-breaking, this is the true story of Michael Rosen's search for his relatives who "went missing" during the Second World War – told through prose, poetry, maps and pictures. When Michael was g...

View Book
It's Not Ok To Feel Blue (and Other Lies) Cover

It's Not Ok To Feel Blue (and Other Lies)

Author: Scarlett Curtis

It's Not Ok To Feel Blue (and Other Lies)

Author Scarlett Curtis

Narrator Various

Duration 9h 24m

Everyone has a mental health. So we asked: What does yours mean to you? THE RESULT IS EXTRAORDINARY. Over 60 people have shared their stories. Powerful, funny, moving, this book is here to tell you: It's OK. With writing and audio from a collection of collaborators including: Adam Kay - Alastair Campbell - Alexis Caught - Ben Platt - Bryony Gordon...

View Book
Almost Adulting Cover

Almost Adulting

Author: Arden Rose

Almost Adulting

Author Arden Rose

Narrator Arden Rose

Duration 3h 4m

For fans of Grace Helbig and Alexa Chung comes a fresh, hilarious guide to growing up your way from social media influencer and lifestyle vlogger Arden Rose. In Almost Adulting-perfect for budding adults, failing adults, and eaters of microwave mug brownies-Arden tells you how to survive your future adulthood. Topics include: Making internet friend...

View Book
I Don't Want To Be Crazy Cover

I Don't Want To Be Crazy

Author: Samantha Schutz

I Don't Want To Be Crazy

Author Samantha Schutz

Narrator Samantha Schutz

Duration 3h 42m

A harrowing, remarkable poetry memoir about one girl's struggle with anxiety disorder. This is a true story of growing up, breaking down, and coming to grips with a psychological disorder. When Samantha Schutz first left home for college, she was excited by the possibilities-freedom from parents, freedom from a boyfriend who was reckless with her a...

View Book
You're Thinking About Tomatoes Cover

You're Thinking About Tomatoes

Author: Michael Rosen

You're Thinking About Tomatoes

Author Michael Rosen

Narrator Michael Rosen

Duration 2h 24m

Frank is among the ruins of the past on a school trip to a stately home. When the servant in an eighteenth century picture starts talking to Frank, he really isn't surprised. The girl is Sheba but is sure that isn't her real name and calls herself 'Not-Sheba'. Frank agrees to help her find out who she is, helped on the way by a celebrity mad mummy,...

View Book
Period Power Cover

Period Power

Author: Nadya Okamoto

Period Power

Author Nadya Okamoto

Narrator Nadya Okamoto

Duration 5h 26m

PERIOD founder and Harvard College student Nadya Okamoto offers a manifesto on menstruation and why we can no longer silence those who bleed-and how to engage in youth activism. Throughout history, periods have been hidden from the public. They're taboo. They're embarrassing. They're gross. And due to a crumbling or nonexistent national sex ed prog...

View Book
The ABC's of LGBT+ Cover

The ABC's of LGBT+

Author: Ashley Mardell

The ABC's of LGBT+

Author Ashley Mardell

Narrator Amy Melissa Bentley

Duration 4h 14m

The twenty-first century has seen very positive movement for LGBT+ rights. In the last few years the overturning of DOMA, the SCOTUS ruling in favor of the Marriage Equality Act, American transgender politicians elected to office, and landmark moments such as Apple becoming the most valuable company in the world under the leadership of an openly ga...

View Book
You're Thinking About Doughnuts Cover

You're Thinking About Doughnuts

Author: Michael Rosen

You're Thinking About Doughnuts

Author Michael Rosen

Narrator Michael Rosen

Duration 1h 33m

Frank hated Friday nights, sitting in the museum while his mum did the cleaning. He felt very alone - until a skeleton came over for a chat! And suddenly the museum didn't seem quite so boring any more. But after a few chilling encounters with some of the skeleton's weird and wonderful friends, all Frank really wants is his mum.

View Book
Nasty! Cover

Nasty!

Author: Michael Rosen

Nasty!

Author Michael Rosen

Narrator Wayne Forester

Duration 2h 25m

Michael Rosen keeps bumping into a chatty old lady who tells him wildly unlikely stories - like there being man eating fleas on the London tube. In addition there are grizzly bears roaming the streets of London, killer wasps and all sorts of tall tales.

View Book