Sign In Join Now
User Accessibility
  • Increase Font

  • Invert Colours

Search for a Book Browse Books Menu
Yorkshire Blitz Book 2: A Sister's Wish Cover
Stream / Download Request CD

Audiobook streaming provided by:

OverDrive Logo

Share this book:

Yorkshire Blitz Book 2: A Sister's Wish

AuthorDonna Douglas

NarratorAnne Dover

SeriesYorkshire Blitz, Book 2

Duration9h 38m

CategoriesAdult Fiction, Family Sagas, Historical Novels

PublisherOrion

VersionUnabridged

  Save to Wish List
  Add to Favourites List

From Sunday Times best-selling author of The Nightingale Girls Donna Douglas.

Spring, 1941. The families of Jubilee Row are still reeling from the loss of one of their own, and as the Blitz on Hull intensifies, it seems as if there will be more tragedies to come. 

As the street braces itself, Iris Fletcher returns home from the hospital, where she has been recovering after the death of her best friend and youngest child. But Iris has no time to mourn - devastated by the loss of their little sister, Archie and Kitty desperately need their mother.

Meanwhile, Edie Copeland is besotted with her infant son. Being a single mother is hard, but Edie finds support in the form of Jack Maguire who, like Edie, is raising his boys alone. As the pair grow closer, Edie begins to wonder whether they could ever be anything more than friends. 

Capable mum Ruby Maguire takes charge as usual, bolstering spirits and lending a hand, as well as trying to keep her flighty sister, Pearl, on the straight and narrow. But the unexpected appearance of a face from her past threatens Ruby's future far more than Hitler's bombs.

For fans of Dilly Court, Rosie Goodwin and Katie Flynn, this is the second book in the Yorkshire Blitz Trilogy from the best-selling author of The Nightingale Girls.

0 (0 Reviews)
0
0
0
0
0

Related Titles

The People's Queen Cover

The People's Queen

Author: Vanora Bennett

The People's Queen

Author Vanora Bennett

Narrator Lucy Scott

Duration 19h 27m

Fourteenth century England. The country is in turmoil. The King is in debt to the City, and the old order had broken down. The King's mistress, Alice Perrers, becomes the virtual ruler of the country. Dislaked and despised by the Black Prince, her strong connections to the merchants maker her a natural ally for the King's ambitious second son, John...

View Book
The Mirror and the Light Cover

The Mirror and the Light

Author: Hilary Mantel

The Mirror and the Light

Author Hilary Mantel

Narrator Ben Miles

Duration 37h 55m

The long-awaited sequel to Wolf Hall and Bring Up the Bodies, the stunning conclusion to Hilary Mantel's Man Booker Prize-winning Thomas Cromwell trilogy. 'If you cannot speak truth at a beheading, when can you speak it?' England, May 1536. Anne Boleyn is dead, decapitated in the space of a heartbeat by a hired French executioner. As her remains ar...

View Book
The Lost Girls of Paris Cover

The Lost Girls of Paris

Author: Pam Jenoff

The Lost Girls of Paris

Author Pam Jenoff

Narrator Various

Duration 11h 42m

From the internationally best-selling author Pam Jenoff, The Lost Girls of Paris is an emotional and powerful journey through friendship and betrayal during the Second World War, inspired by true events. 1940s. With the world at war, Eleanor Trigg leads a mysterious ring of female secret agents in London. Twelve of these women are sent to aid the r...

View Book
Yorkshire Blitz Book 3: A Daughter's Hope Cover

Yorkshire Blitz Book 3: A Daughter's Hope

Author: Donna Douglas

Yorkshire Blitz Book 3: A Daughter's Hope

Author Donna Douglas

Narrator Anne Dover

SeriesYorkshire Blitz, Book 3

Duration 10h 25m

From Sunday Times best-Selling author Donna Douglas. Autumn, 1942. The Blitz has come to an end, but for many families, it's not over yet. As the residents of Jubilee Row begin to rebuild their lives, twins Sybil and Maudie Maguire decide to go off and do their bit by joining the WAAFs. But what starts off as a great adventure soon force...

View Book
The Parisian Cover

The Parisian

Author: Isabella Hammad

The Parisian

Author Isabella Hammad

Narrator Fiona Button

Duration 20h 31m

As the First World War shatters families, destroys friendships and kills lovers, a young Palestinian dreamer sets out to find himself. Midhat Kamal picks his way across a fractured world, from the shifting politics of the Middle East to the dinner tables of Montpellier and a newly tumultuous Paris. He discovers that everything is fragile: love turn...

View Book
Serotonin Cover

Serotonin

Author: Michel Houellebecq

Serotonin

Author Michel Houellebecq

Narrator John Sackville

Duration 8h 10m

Dissatisfied and discontent, Florent-Claude Labrouste begrudgingly works as an engineer for the Ministry of Agriculture, and is in a self-imposed dysfunctional relationship with a younger woman. When he discovers her ongoing infidelity, he decides to abandon his life in Paris and return to the Normandy countryside of his youth. There he contemplate...

View Book
The Women At Hitler's Table Cover

The Women At Hitler's Table

Author: Rosella Postorino

The Women At Hitler's Table

Author Rosella Postorino

Narrator Kristen Atherton

Duration 10h 51m

East Prussia, 1943. Hitler hides away in the Wolfsshanze - his hidden headquarters. The tide is turning in the war, and his enemies circle ever closer. Ten women are chosen. Ten women to taste his food and protect him from poison. Twenty-six-year-old Rosa has lost everything to this war. Her parents are dead. Her husband is fighting on the front li...

View Book
The Confessions of Frannie Langton Cover

The Confessions of Frannie Langton

Author: Sara Collins

The Confessions of Frannie Langton

Author Sara Collins

Narrator Roy Mcmillan

Duration 12h 14m

Penguin presents the audiobook edition of The Confessions of Frannie Langton read by Sara Collins. They say I must be put to death for what happened to Madame, and they want me to confess. But how can I confess what I don't believe I've done? 1826, and all of London is in a frenzy. Crowds gather at the gates of the Old Bailey to watch as Frannie La...

View Book
Nightingales Series Book 1: The Nightingale Girls Cover

Nightingales Series Book 1: The Nightingale Girls

Author: Donna Douglas

Nightingales Series Book 1: The Nightingale Girls

Author Donna Douglas

Narrator Penelope Freeman

SeriesNightingales Series, Book 1

Duration 15h

Three very different girls sign up as student nurses in 1936, while England is still mourning the death of George V. Dora is a tough East Ender, driven by ambition, but also desperate to escape her squalid, overcrowded home and her abusive stepfather. Helen is the quiet one, a mystery to her fellow nurses, avoiding fun, gossip and the limelight. In...

View Book
The Last Kingdom Book 12: Sword of Kings Cover

The Last Kingdom Book 12: Sword of Kings

Author: Bernard Cornwell

The Last Kingdom Book 12: Sword of Kings

Author Bernard Cornwell

Narrator Matt Bates

SeriesThe Last Kingdom, Book 12

Duration 13h 27m

England is in turmoil as Vikings and Saxons battle for territory. Rumours build about the fatal sickness of the King, and the country awaits an heir. A violent clash at sea forces the warrior lord Uhtred to lead his men from his Northumbrian fortress to London and plunge into the eye of the storm. For two kings claim the empty throne and a new king...

View Book