Sign In Join Now
User Accessibility
  • Increase Font

  • Invert Colours

Search for a Book Browse Books Menu
Yorkshire Blitz Book 3: A Daughter's Hope Cover
Stream / Download Request CD

Audiobook streaming provided by:

OverDrive Logo

Share this book:

Yorkshire Blitz Book 3: A Daughter's Hope

AuthorDonna Douglas

NarratorAnne Dover

SeriesYorkshire Blitz, Book 3

Duration10h 25m

CategoriesAdult Fiction, Family Sagas, Historical Novels

PublisherOrion

VersionUnabridged

  Save to Wish List
  Add to Favourites List

From Sunday Times best-Selling author Donna Douglas.

Autumn, 1942. The Blitz has come to an end, but for many families, it's not over yet. As the residents of Jubilee Row begin to rebuild their lives, twins Sybil and Maudie Maguire decide to go off and do their bit by joining the WAAFs. But what starts off as a great adventure soon forces the girls to grow up as they are confronted with the harsh realities of war. Will they stick together, or will their experiences drive them apart? 

Back in Hull, their older sister, Ada, faces struggles of her own as she nurses the war wounded. But can anyone help to mend her own broken heart?

For fans of Dilly Court, Rosie Goodwin and Katie Flynn, this is the third book in the Yorkshire Blitz Trilogy, from the best-selling author of The Nightingale Girls.

0 (0 Reviews)
0
0
0
0
0

Related Titles

Figures In Silk Cover

Figures In Silk

Author: Vanora Bennett

Figures In Silk

Author Vanora Bennett

Narrator Lucy Scott

Duration 13h 48m

As the Wars of the Roses draw slowly to a close, England is a place of turmoil. Edward IV is on the thrown but his position is unstable and he finds himself challenged by a man who would become Henry VII. But Isabel, a silk weaver to the court and mistress to Richard II, can cut through the turmoil with her clever ways and her pretty smile. Her sis...

View Book
The Parisian Cover

The Parisian

Author: Isabella Hammad

The Parisian

Author Isabella Hammad

Narrator Fiona Button

Duration 20h 31m

As the First World War shatters families, destroys friendships and kills lovers, a young Palestinian dreamer sets out to find himself. Midhat Kamal picks his way across a fractured world, from the shifting politics of the Middle East to the dinner tables of Montpellier and a newly tumultuous Paris. He discovers that everything is fragile: love turn...

View Book
The Mirror and the Light Cover

The Mirror and the Light

Author: Hilary Mantel

The Mirror and the Light

Author Hilary Mantel

Narrator Ben Miles

Duration 37h 55m

The long-awaited sequel to Wolf Hall and Bring Up the Bodies, the stunning conclusion to Hilary Mantel's Man Booker Prize-winning Thomas Cromwell trilogy. 'If you cannot speak truth at a beheading, when can you speak it?' England, May 1536. Anne Boleyn is dead, decapitated in the space of a heartbeat by a hired French executioner. As her remains ar...

View Book
The Lost Girls of Paris Cover

The Lost Girls of Paris

Author: Pam Jenoff

The Lost Girls of Paris

Author Pam Jenoff

Narrator Various

Duration 11h 42m

From the internationally best-selling author Pam Jenoff, The Lost Girls of Paris is an emotional and powerful journey through friendship and betrayal during the Second World War, inspired by true events. 1940s. With the world at war, Eleanor Trigg leads a mysterious ring of female secret agents in London. Twelve of these women are sent to aid the r...

View Book
Yorkshire Blitz Book 2: A Sister's Wish Cover

Yorkshire Blitz Book 2: A Sister's Wish

Author: Donna Douglas

Yorkshire Blitz Book 2: A Sister's Wish

Author Donna Douglas

Narrator Anne Dover

SeriesYorkshire Blitz, Book 2

Duration 9h 38m

From Sunday Times best-selling author of The Nightingale Girls Donna Douglas. Spring, 1941. The families of Jubilee Row are still reeling from the loss of one of their own, and as the Blitz on Hull intensifies, it seems as if there will be more tragedies to come.  As the street braces itself, Iris Fletcher returns home from th...

View Book
Yorkshire Blitz Book 1: A Mother's Journey Cover

Yorkshire Blitz Book 1: A Mother's Journey

Author: Donna Douglas

Yorkshire Blitz Book 1: A Mother's Journey

Author Donna Douglas

Narrator Anne Dover

SeriesYorkshire Blitz, Book 1

Duration 10h 5m

From the Sunday Times best-selling author of The Nightingale series. A dramatic and heartwarming new saga series from the well-loved Donna Douglas. Hull, 1940. Widowed Edie Copeland has just arrived on Exchange Street, heavily pregnant and with heavy suitcase in tow. She left York after tragedy struck to make a fresh start, but she's a...

View Book
Serotonin Cover

Serotonin

Author: Michel Houellebecq

Serotonin

Author Michel Houellebecq

Narrator John Sackville

Duration 8h 10m

Dissatisfied and discontent, Florent-Claude Labrouste begrudgingly works as an engineer for the Ministry of Agriculture, and is in a self-imposed dysfunctional relationship with a younger woman. When he discovers her ongoing infidelity, he decides to abandon his life in Paris and return to the Normandy countryside of his youth. There he contemplate...

View Book
The Women At Hitler's Table Cover

The Women At Hitler's Table

Author: Rosella Postorino

The Women At Hitler's Table

Author Rosella Postorino

Narrator Kristen Atherton

Duration 10h 51m

East Prussia, 1943. Hitler hides away in the Wolfsshanze - his hidden headquarters. The tide is turning in the war, and his enemies circle ever closer. Ten women are chosen. Ten women to taste his food and protect him from poison. Twenty-six-year-old Rosa has lost everything to this war. Her parents are dead. Her husband is fighting on the front li...

View Book
Nightingales Series Book 2: The Nightingale Sisters Cover

Nightingales Series Book 2: The Nightingale Sisters

Author: Donna Douglas

Nightingales Series Book 2: The Nightingale Sisters

Author Donna Douglas

Narrator Penelope Freeman

SeriesNightingales Series, Book 2

Duration 14h

To the student nurses at The Nightingale hospital, the ward sisters are heartless and frightening, with impossibly high standards. But the sisters have troubles of their own... Dora, the student nurse is struggling with her heartbreak over Nick, the man who got away. A new arrival on the ward brings the chance to put a smile back on her face. But c...

View Book
The Confessions of Frannie Langton Cover

The Confessions of Frannie Langton

Author: Sara Collins

The Confessions of Frannie Langton

Author Sara Collins

Narrator Roy Mcmillan

Duration 12h 14m

Penguin presents the audiobook edition of The Confessions of Frannie Langton read by Sara Collins. They say I must be put to death for what happened to Madame, and they want me to confess. But how can I confess what I don't believe I've done? 1826, and all of London is in a frenzy. Crowds gather at the gates of the Old Bailey to watch as Frannie La...

View Book